Independent publication. We may earn a fee when you request information from a school or buy a course through links marked as sponsored. It never changes what we recommend. How we work
Degree guide

Master's in Curriculum and Instruction: Online Programs and Pay

A practical guide to the master's in curriculum and instruction: what you study, why most programs are non-licensure, how long they take, what they cost, what the BLS says about instructional coordinator pay, and verified online programs to compare.

Updated November 7, 202611 min readUS focus

A master's in curriculum and instruction is the degree for teachers who want to shape what is taught, not just deliver it. It is also the most common master's in education, which means the label covers a wide range of programs, almost all of them online-friendly and almost all of them non-licensure. This guide explains what the degree covers, who it suits, how programs differ, what they cost and what the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports about the instructional coordinator role the degree most directly prepares you for.

What the degree is and who it is for

Curriculum and instruction, often shortened to C&I, is the study of what students should learn, how it should be sequenced and taught, and how to tell whether it worked. A master's in the field typically runs 30 to 36 credits and is designed for people already working in education: classroom teachers who want to lead a department or grade team, instructional coaches, district curriculum staff, and educators in private, charter or international schools.

The course lists make the focus concrete. WGU's M.S. in Curriculum and Instruction runs through Differentiated Instruction, Designing Curriculum and Instruction I and II, Standards-Based Assessment, The Reflective Practitioner, Learning as a Science, The Collaborative Leader, Data-Informed Practices and Educational Research before a capstone built on action or applied research. Penn State World Campus's M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction lets students shape 30 credits around an emphasis such as Curriculum and Supervision or STEM.

The degree is not the route into teaching for someone without a license. For that, see our guides to online teaching degrees and how to become a teacher.

Licensure and non-licensure tracks

Most C&I master's programs are explicitly non-licensure, and the programs on this page say so in their own words.

  • Penn State: the program is not designed to lead to initial teacher certification in any state, though it may help renew or maintain an existing certification.
  • Texas A&M: "This is not a teacher certification program."
  • University of Kansas: the M.S.E. does not lead to initial or advanced teaching licensure.
  • Southern New Hampshire University: the M.Ed. does not lead to licensure, though endorsement opportunities may exist depending on state rules; applicants sign a Non-Licensure Acknowledgment form.
  • WGU: the M.S. page does not describe a licensure outcome and points licensure seekers to the university's separate teaching license programs.

The exception is the add-on endorsement. Liberty's M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction lists Early Childhood Education and Gifted Education as add-on endorsements that require an initial teaching license, while its other twelve specializations are non-licensure. Its teacher education programs are approved by the Virginia Department of Education, so the endorsement is a Virginia endorsement first.

For most applicants, non-licensure is a feature. You already hold the license; you want the knowledge, the credential and the salary-schedule step your district attaches to a master's. Just do not expect the degree to move you from one license to another.

Concentrations and emphasis areas

The core is similar everywhere. What distinguishes programs is the specialization menu.

Program Emphasis or concentration options
Penn State M.Ed. Children's Literature; Curriculum and Supervision; Elementary Education; Language and Literacy in Schools and Society; Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
Texas A&M M.Ed. Generalist; Reading and Literacy; Urban Education; STEM; Mathematics Education; Science Education
SNHU M.Ed. Dyslexia and Language-Based Learning Disabilities; Educational Leadership; Online Teaching; Reading; Special Education; Technology; or a general track
Liberty M.Ed. 14 specializations including Educational Technology, Elementary Education, English, Gifted Education, History, Leadership, Middle Grades, Special Education, Student Services and Urban Education
Kansas M.S.E. A single 10-course curriculum and instruction sequence
WGU M.S. A single 10-course sequence ending in an action research capstone

Choose by the problem you want to solve. A reading specialist path suits literacy coaches; a STEM or mathematics education emphasis suits teachers heading toward department leadership; an educational technology or online teaching concentration suits those designing blended or virtual courses. If your interest is school-wide social and emotional learning, our SEL curriculum guide and SEL integration approach show the kind of design work a C&I degree prepares you for.

Credits, duration and pace

  • Penn State: 30 credits, all courses three credits; students typically take two to three years, with published paces from one to two years at three or four courses a semester to three to four years at one course a semester.
  • Texas A&M: 36 hours, non-thesis.
  • Kansas: 30 credits in 10 courses of 8 weeks; as few as two years.
  • WGU: 10 courses; most students finish in about 18 months.
  • SNHU: 36 credits in 12 courses, 9 core plus electives or a 3-course concentration, in 10-week terms.
  • Liberty: 8-week courses; the page does not state a credit total, and directs applicants to the degree completion plan in the catalog.

Working teachers usually take one or two courses at a time, so the two-to-three-year figure is the realistic planning number for most people, with the competency-based WGU model as the main exception for those who can move quickly through familiar material.

Admissions and the GRE

None of the programs on this page requires the GRE. Penn State states that no GRE or GMAT scores are required. Kansas says no GRE is required for admission. SNHU's process involves no test scores, no application fee and no essay. Liberty lists no standardized testing for admission. Texas A&M's online M.Ed. page does not mention the test.

What they ask for instead:

  • A bachelor's degree from an accredited institution, in every case.
  • GPA: Penn State asks for a 3.0 junior and senior GPA.
  • Experience: SNHU requires a résumé showing at least six months of relevant K-12 instructional or curriculum development experience. Kansas says prior teaching experience is strongly recommended but not required. WGU requires experience in an educational environment and, because the capstone is applied research, access to a K-12 population of learners or educators with at least 15 participants.
  • Writing and references: Penn State requires two references, a résumé, a statement of purpose and a writing sample of about 1,000 words that critically reviews a recent educational research article.

Accreditation and why it matters

For a non-licensure master's, institutional accreditation is the essential check. Penn State is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, which reaffirmed its accreditation in 2024. Texas A&M is accredited by SACSCOC. The University of Kansas is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. WGU is accredited by NWCCU. SNHU is a private, nonprofit institution accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education. Liberty is accredited by SACSCOC.

Accreditation of the educator preparation provider matters when the degree touches a license or endorsement. The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation is recognized by CHEA, and the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation, founded in 2017, is also CHEA-recognized with more than 200 member providers in 34 states and territories. Kansas's programs are accredited under CAEP standards from fall 2021 to fall 2028. WGU's Teachers College holds both CAEP and AAQEP accreditation. Liberty's School of Education is CAEP-accredited, which is relevant to its add-on endorsements.

What it costs (approximate ranges)

The NCES Digest of Education Statistics reports average graduate tuition and required fees of $20,513 in 2021-22, with public institutions at $12,596 and private nonprofits at $29,931. Published rates for the programs here, which change annually:

Program Published rate Size
SNHU M.Ed. $659 per credit; $23,724 total 36 credits
Penn State M.Ed. $1,048 per credit (2026-27) 30 credits
Liberty M.Ed. $450 per credit full time, $515 part time (2026-27) Not stated on page
WGU M.S. $5,450 per six-month term plus a $200 fee 10 courses
Kansas M.S.E. Not stated on the program page 30 credits
Texas A&M M.Ed. Not stated on the program page 36 hours

SNHU allows up to 12 transfer credits, with at least 24 taken at SNHU. Liberty allows transfer of up to 50% of a graduate degree. Transfer credit is the single biggest lever on total cost for a non-licensure master's.

Online format realities

C&I programs are among the most fully online degrees in education because they have no student teaching requirement. Kansas describes its program as 100% online with no campus visits required. Texas A&M describes online delivery built around video lectures and discussion. SNHU runs 10-week terms; Kansas and Liberty run 8-week courses.

The catch is that the work is applied. WGU's capstone requires action research with real learners, hence the requirement for access to at least 15 participants. SNHU requires documented K-12 experience before admission. Expect assignments that ask you to redesign a unit, analyze your students' assessment data or lead a professional learning session, which is far easier if you are employed in a school while you study.

Career outlook and pay

The role this degree most directly prepares you for is instructional coordinator. The BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook lists a master's degree as the typical entry-level education and five or more years of related experience, such as teaching or school administration, as the typical work experience requirement. It notes that public school coordinators are required to have a master's degree in education or curriculum and instruction, that some positions require a degree in a specialized field such as math or history, and that coordinators in public schools may need a state-issued license such as a teaching or administrator license.

The median annual wage was $77,440 in May 2025. Employment was 248,700 in 2025 and is projected to grow 2 percent from 2025 to 2035, slower than the average for all occupations, with about 23,100 openings a year on average, most from replacing workers who retire or change occupations.

For comparison, kindergarten and elementary school teachers earned a median of $63,820 in May 2025 and high school teachers $72,040. Many C&I graduates remain teachers by choice and use the degree for department leadership, coaching or a master's step on the district salary schedule.

Note: Whether a master's raises classroom pay depends on your district's salary schedule, which this guide does not verify. The BLS figures describe roles, not automatic raises.

The state reciprocity caveat

A non-licensure master's travels well, because there is no license attached. Endorsements do not. Liberty's early childhood and gifted add-ons are Virginia endorsements, and SNHU's note that endorsement opportunities "may exist depending on state rules" is the honest version of the situation. If you want the degree to add a credential, confirm with your own state's licensing agency that the specific program qualifies. States review out-of-state credentials case by case; the Texas Education Agency, for instance, takes about six to eight weeks to review an out-of-state educator's credentials and then lists any further requirements.

How to choose

  1. Decide whether you need an endorsement. If not, any institutionally accredited program is in play.
  2. Pick the specialization that matches the role you want in five years, not the course that sounds interesting this year.
  3. Compare total published cost and transfer credit limits.
  4. Check pace options against your teaching load.
  5. Ask what the capstone or final project requires and whether your current school can host it.

If leadership rather than curriculum is the goal, compare this degree with an educational leadership degree. For a broader look at degree types, see master's in education online.

How we verified this guide

Every figure above was checked on the page cited on November 7, 2026. Pay and employment data come from the BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook (May 2025 wages, 2025-35 projections). Program credits, policies and rates come from each university's own pages, and nonprofit status from the institution's site or its IRS filings as indexed by ProPublica. Where a page did not state a figure, we left it out.

Frequently asked questions

What is a master's in curriculum and instruction?

It is a graduate degree for educators who want to design, evaluate and improve what is taught and how. Core courses typically cover curriculum design, assessment, differentiated instruction, learning science and educational research, often ending in a capstone or action research project. WGU's version, for example, runs from Differentiated Instruction and Designing Curriculum and Instruction through Data-Informed Practices to a capstone built on applied research in a real classroom or school.

Does a master's in curriculum and instruction lead to a teaching license?

Usually not. Penn State states its M.Ed. is not designed to lead to initial teacher certification in any state, Texas A&M says its online M.Ed. is not a teacher certification program, the University of Kansas says its M.S.E. does not lead to initial or advanced licensure, and SNHU says its M.Ed. does not lead to licensure. Liberty's M.Ed. offers early childhood and gifted education as add-on endorsements for teachers who already hold a license, while its other specializations are non-licensure.

How long does an online master's in curriculum and instruction take?

Most programs are 30 to 36 credits. Penn State says students typically take two to three years for its 30-credit M.Ed., and the University of Kansas lists as few as two years for 30 credits in 8-week courses. WGU says most students finish its 10-course M.S. in about 18 months. SNHU's 36-credit M.Ed. runs in 10-week terms. Pace depends on how many courses you take alongside a teaching job.

Do I need the GRE?

Not for the programs on this page. Penn State states that no GRE or GMAT scores are required, the University of Kansas says no GRE is required for admission, SNHU requires no test scores, and Liberty lists no standardized testing for admission. Programs instead ask for a bachelor's degree, a GPA floor such as Penn State's 3.0, and evidence of classroom experience, such as SNHU's requirement of at least six months of K-12 instructional or curriculum work.

What jobs does a master's in curriculum and instruction lead to?

The clearest match is instructional coordinator. The BLS lists a master's degree as the typical entry-level education for the role, notes that public school coordinators are required to have a master's in education or curriculum and instruction, and reports a median annual wage of $77,440 in May 2025. Employment is projected to grow 2 percent from 2025 to 2035 with about 23,100 openings a year. Many graduates stay in the classroom as department chairs, coaches or teacher leaders.

How much does an online master's in curriculum and instruction cost?

NCES reports average graduate tuition and required fees of $20,513 in 2021-22, with public institutions at $12,596 and private nonprofits at $29,931. Published online rates vary: SNHU lists $659 per credit and $23,724 for 36 credits, Penn State charges $1,048 per credit for 2026-27 across 30 credits, Liberty lists $450 per credit for 2026-27, and WGU charges $5,450 per six-month term for its 10-course M.S. Confirm current rates on the program page.

Sources

  1. Instructional Coordinators: Occupational Outlook Handbook U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
  2. Kindergarten and Elementary School Teachers: Occupational Outlook Handbook U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
  3. High School Teachers: Occupational Outlook Handbook U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
  4. Table 330.50. Average and percentiles of graduate tuition and required fees in degree-granting postsecondary institutions, by control of institution: Academic year 1989-90 through 2021-22 National Center for Education Statistics, Digest of Education Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
  5. About CAEP Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (accessed November 7, 2026)
  6. About Us Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (accessed November 7, 2026)
  7. Out-of-State Certified Educators Texas Education Agency (accessed November 7, 2026)
  8. Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction Penn State World Campus (accessed November 7, 2026)
  9. Accreditation Penn State Office of Planning, Assessment, and Institutional Research (accessed November 7, 2026)
  10. Online M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction: Generalist Emphasis Texas A&M University, Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture (accessed November 7, 2026)
  11. Accreditation Texas A&M University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  12. Master of Science in Education (M.S.E.) in Curriculum and Instruction University of Kansas, KU Education Online (accessed November 7, 2026)
  13. Accreditation University of Kansas School of Education and Human Sciences (accessed November 7, 2026)
  14. Accreditation University of Kansas (accessed November 7, 2026)
  15. Curriculum and Instruction – M.S. Western Governors University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  16. Accreditation Western Governors University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  17. About WGU Western Governors University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  18. MEd in Curriculum and Instruction Online Southern New Hampshire University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  19. About Us Southern New Hampshire University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  20. Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction Liberty University Online (accessed November 7, 2026)
  21. Accreditation Liberty University (accessed November 7, 2026)
  22. Liberty University Inc, Lynchburg, VA (EIN 54-0946734), designated as a 501(c)(3) ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer (accessed November 7, 2026)