No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Approved educator preparation program
Candidates complete a State Board of Education approved educator preparation program at a regionally accredited college or university and pass the content area assessments required for their endorsement. They then apply to the Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification for the 10-year Initial Educator Certificate. Applications are filed online through the Connecticut Educator Certification System (CECS) or by mail with form ED 170A.
- Meet the admission requirements of a Connecticut approved educator preparation program
- Complete the approved preparation program for the endorsement area
- Pass the required content area assessments for that endorsement
- Apply online through CECS or by mail and pay the $50 nonrefundable application review payment
- Send official sealed or electronic transcripts to the Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Alternate route programs (noncredit, post-baccalaureate)
Connecticut's guide to approved programs lists noncredit alternative programs for people who already hold a bachelor's degree, offered by the Alternate Route to Certification (ARC) program of the CT Office of Higher Education, Capitol Region Education Council (CREC) and Charter Oak State College. Candidates admitted to an approved program must have passed the Praxis Core Academic Skills Test (or present SAT or GRE scores, or hold a valid Connecticut certificate) and have at least a B- undergraduate grade point average. Districts may also request a Durational Shortage Area Permit for a candidate with a bachelor's degree and at least 12 semester hours in the subject who is enrolled in a required preparation program.
- Earn a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
- Pass the Praxis Core Academic Skills Test or present acceptable SAT or GRE scores
- Apply to and complete a state approved alternate route program
- Pass the content area assessments for the endorsement
- Apply for the Initial Educator Certificate through CECS
Changing careers into teaching in Connecticut
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 3 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Connecticut was $80,970 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alternate Route to Certification (ARC), CT Office of Higher Education | Not stated | State list | |
| Capitol Region Education Council (CREC) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Charter Oak State College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Connecticut.
Enhanced Reciprocity and out-of-state applicants
Educators who hold a valid certificate from an enhanced reciprocity state or territory (including Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island) that is minimally equivalent to Connecticut's Initial Educator Certificate can apply for a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate in the closest comparable endorsement. Applicants from all other states apply with verification forms for out-of-state tests, preparation and experience, and coursework may be waived under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement after an approved program or 30 months of full-time experience within 10 years. All out-of-state applicants start at the Initial level, and 20 school months of successful experience in the last ten years may exempt them from the TEAM induction program.
- Check whether the current certificate is from an enhanced reciprocity state
- Apply online through CECS or on paper and pay the $50 application review payment
- Submit form ED 711 for out-of-state tests and form ED 125 from the preparing institution
- Submit form ED 126 if claiming more than 20 months of out-of-state experience
- Send official transcripts to the Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Connecticut uses Praxis, Pearson (Foundations of Reading, Early Childhood) and ACTFL for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Academic Skills for Educators (Reading, Writing, Mathematics) Praxis · Basic skills | 5752 (subtests 5713, 5723, 5733) | Not published | $150 (combined); $90 per subtest | Admission to a Connecticut approved educator preparation program; SAT or GRE scores or a valid Connecticut certificate may be used instead Source |
| Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5001 (subtests 5002, 5003, 5004, 5005) | Reading and Language Arts (5002) 157; Mathematics (5003) 157; Social Studies (5004) 155; Science (5005) 159 | $180 | Elementary Grades 1-6 (#305) Source |
| Foundations of Reading Test Pearson · Reading instruction | 702 | 240 | Not published | Early Childhood (#113), Elementary (#305) and Comprehensive Special Education (#165) Source |
| Early Childhood Test Pearson · Subject knowledge | 801 | 216 | $139 | Integrated Early Childhood/Special Education, N-K, Elementary 1-3 (#113) Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | Comprehensive Special Education, PreK-12 (#165) Source |
| English Language Arts: Content and Analysis Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5039 | 168 | $156 | English, 4-12 (#015) Source |
| Mathematics: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Mathematics, 4-12 (#029) Source |
| Biology: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Biology, 4-12 (#030) Source |
| Chemistry: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5246 | 146 | $130 | Chemistry, 4-12 (#031) Source |
| Social Studies: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 153 | $130 | History/Social Studies, 4-12 (#026) Source |
| Reading Specialist Test Pearson · Reading instruction | 802 | 220 | $139 | Remedial Reading/Language Arts (#102) and Reading and Language Arts Consultant (#097) Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Application review payment (nonrefundable) | $50 | Source |
| Initial Educator Certificate (including interim initial and renewal of initial) | $0 (no cost) | Source |
| Professional Educator Certificate | $375 | Source |
| Renewal of Professional Educator Certificate | $0 (no cost) | Source |
| Additional endorsement (cross endorsement), each | $100 | Source |
| Duplicate certificate | $50 | Source |
Background check
Not published by the state; check with the agency.
Your first license
License: Initial Educator Certificate. It is valid for 10 years. Interim initial certificates (3-year nonrenewable with a testing deferral, or 1-year with coursework deficiencies) may be issued at the Initial level. Advancing to the 10-year Professional Educator Certificate requires at least 50 school months of service in a Connecticut public or approved nonpublic school, meeting TEAM requirements and meeting degree and coursework requirements. Source
Renewal
Professional Educator Certificates are renewed online through CECS or with form ED 179 at no cost, and documentation of continuing education units is not required. CEUs were repealed as of July 1, 2012, and districts must instead offer at least 18 hours of professional development per year. An Initial Educator Certificate may be renewed if the educator has not served under it, and one-year extensions are possible for educators who served but have not yet met advancement requirements. Requirement: No CEU documentation required; districts offer at least 18 hours of professional development per year. Source
Teacher pay in Connecticut
Elementary teachers in Connecticut earned a median of $80,600 a year in May 2025, $16,630 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $80,600 | $83,380 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $93,610 | $86,920 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $80,970 | $84,460 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $82,950 | $84,040 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $92,900 | $87,110 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $81,710 | $85,660 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Connecticut reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Career and Technical Education: Industrial Technology (statewide)
- English as a Second Language: Bilingual Education, English as a Second Language (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- Social Studies (statewide)
- Special Education: Speech and Language Impairment (statewide)
- Support Staff: Library/Media Specialist, Psychologist (statewide)
- World Languages: Any World Language (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Connecticut?
Connecticut uses Praxis, Pearson (Foundations of Reading, Early Childhood) and ACTFL. Core tests include Core Academic Skills for Educators (Reading, Writing, Mathematics) (5752 (subtests 5713, 5723, 5733)); Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001 (subtests 5002, 5003, 5004, 5005)); Foundations of Reading Test (702); Early Childhood Test (801). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Connecticut State Department of Education, Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Connecticut without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Connecticut's guide to approved programs lists noncredit alternative programs for people who already hold a bachelor's degree, offered by the Alternate Route to Certification (ARC) program of the CT Office of Higher Education, Capitol Region Education Council (CREC) and Charter Oak State College. This page lists 3 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Connecticut?
Published fees include Application review payment (nonrefundable): $50; Initial Educator Certificate (including interim initial and renewal of initial): $0 (no cost); Professional Educator Certificate: $375. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Connecticut State Department of Education, Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification.
Does Connecticut accept teaching licenses from other states?
Educators who hold a valid certificate from an enhanced reciprocity state or territory (including Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island) that is minimally equivalent to Connecticut's Initial Educator Certificate can apply for a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate in the closest comparable endorsement. Contact the Connecticut State Department of Education, Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Connecticut?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Connecticut was $80,600 for elementary teachers, $93,610 for middle school teachers and $80,970 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- SDE Bureau of Certification home Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What are the requirements for becoming a teacher in Connecticut? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- How do I apply for my first teaching certificate? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Guide to Approved Educator Preparation Programs in Connecticut (June 2026) Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What is a Durational Shortage Area Permit? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Will Connecticut accept my current teacher certification? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educators from Enhanced Reciprocity States Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- How do teachers from other states apply for a Connecticut teaching certificate? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What assessments are required for CT educators Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What is edTPA (teacher performance assessment)? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Certification fees Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What teaching certificates are available in Connecticut? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- How do I renew my Connecticut educator certificate? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What laws apply to renewing your educator certification in Connecticut? Connecticut State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Early Childhood (801) test page Pearson Evaluation Systems (Connecticut Foundations of Reading and Early Childhood tests) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Reading Specialist (802) test page Pearson Evaluation Systems (Connecticut Foundations of Reading and Early Childhood tests) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Core Combined (5752; subtests 5713, 5723, 5733) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading (5713) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- English Language Arts: Content and Analysis (5039) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Mathematics (5165) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Biology (5236) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Chemistry (5246) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Social Studies (5581) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Capitol Region Education Council CREC (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Charter Oak State College Charter Oak State College (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Connecticut US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS090000000000025202113, OEUS090000000000025202213, OEUS090000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)