Note: The Mississippi Department of Education, Educator Licensure website could not be reached from our network on November 7, 2026, so the routes, license, renewal and background-check details on this page come from Mississippi's administrative rules, Guidelines for Mississippi Educator Licensure K-12 (Dec 2023), 7 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 4. Rules set the requirements but not always the current procedures or fees, so confirm both with the agency before you apply.
No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Five Year Educator License, Traditional Teacher Education Route
Candidates earn at least a bachelor's degree and complete a state-approved or NCATE/CAEP-accredited teacher education program, including student teaching, at a regionally or nationally accredited institution. They also need a 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent), a qualifying Praxis Core score, or a 3.0 GPA on at least 60 hours of coursework, plus passing scores on the Praxis Subject Assessment and the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT). Elementary education completers must also score 233 on the Foundations of Reading test, and program students need a Pre-Service Teacher License, which requires a cleared criminal background check, before field experience or student teaching.
- Enroll in a state-approved or NCATE/CAEP-accredited teacher education program
- Meet the academic threshold: 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent), a qualifying Praxis Core score, or a 3.0 GPA on 60 hours of coursework
- Have your program request a Pre-Service Teacher License, with a cleared background check, before field experience
- Complete student teaching and earn your bachelor's degree
- Pass the Praxis Subject Assessment and the Praxis PLT (plus Foundations of Reading for elementary education)
- Apply for the five-year educator license through your MECCA account, with transcripts and scores sent directly
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Alternate Route License
Candidates with a non-education bachelor's degree from a regionally or nationally accredited institution qualify with a 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent), a qualifying Praxis Core score, or a 3.0 GPA overall or on the last 60 hours, plus a passing Praxis Subject Assessment. The approved programs are the Teach Mississippi Institute, the Master of Arts in Teaching and iteach Mississippi, which lead to a three-year alternate route license, and the American Board Certification for Teacher Excellence, which leads to a one-year license. After a one-year mentored or supervised internship and the program's remaining coursework or modules, candidates apply for the five-year alternate route educator license.
- Hold a non-education bachelor's degree from a regionally or nationally accredited institution
- Meet the academic threshold: 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent), a qualifying Praxis Core score, or a 3.0 GPA overall or on the last 60 hours
- Pass the Praxis Subject Assessment for your licensure area
- Enroll in an approved program: Teach Mississippi Institute, Master of Arts in Teaching, American Board or iteach Mississippi
- Finish the pre-teaching training or coursework and apply for the three-year (American Board: one-year) alternate route license
- Teach through a one-year mentored or supervised internship and complete the remaining program requirements
- Apply for the five-year alternate route educator license
Changing careers into teaching in Mississippi
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 15 programs below are on the state's approved list, and one of them says its coursework is online.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Mississippi was $50,980 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Board (ABCTE) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| iteach | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Teach Mississippi Institute (University of Mississippi, online program) | Yes | State list | |
| Delta State University (Teach Mississippi Institute and Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| University of Southern Mississippi (Teach Mississippi Institute and Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Alcorn State University (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Belhaven College (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Jackson State University (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Mississippi College (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Mississippi Valley State University (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| University of Mississippi (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| William Carey University (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Mississippi State University (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Mississippi University for Women (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list | |
| Tougaloo College (Master of Arts in Teaching) | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Mississippi.
Five Year Educator License, Reciprocity
The department grants a standard five-year license to anyone who holds a valid standard license from another state, or from another country or political subdivision, within 21 days of a completed application. Applicants upload a copy of the out-of-state license to their MECCA account and have official transcripts for all college coursework sent, and a valid out-of-state Class AA, AAA or AAAA license in a Mississippi endorsement area qualifies for the matching higher class. Educators who complete a non-traditional program outside Mississippi must first be licensed in another state and then apply through reciprocity.
- Hold a valid standard educator license issued outside Mississippi
- Apply online through the Mississippi Educator Career Continuum Archive (MECCA) system
- Upload a PDF copy of your valid out-of-state license to your MECCA account
- Have official transcripts for all college coursework sent electronically by each institution
- Receive the standard five-year license, which the department issues within 21 days of a completed application
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Mississippi uses Praxis and Foundations of Reading for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Academic Skills for Educators: Combined (Reading 5713, Writing 5723, Mathematics 5733) Praxis · Basic skills | 5752 | Reading (5713): 156; Writing (5723): 162; Mathematics (5733): 130 | $150 | Required for alternate route candidates; may be required for admission to an educator preparation program Source |
| Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5017 | 153 | $130 | Elementary (K-3, K-6) license Source |
| Foundations of Reading for Mississippi Foundations of Reading · Reading instruction | 890 | Not published | Not published | Elementary Education K-6, K-3 and 4-6 licenses, and Special Education Mild to Moderate (K-12) since January 1, 2023, in addition to other required tests Source |
| Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5534 | 157 | $130 | Child Development PreK-K license Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 139 | $130 | Mild/Moderate Disability K-12 license Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5622 | 160 | $156 | Traditional program graduates seeking K-3 or K-6 areas Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5624 | 157 | $156 | Traditional program graduates seeking 7-12 areas Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | English 7-12 Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 152 | $130 | Mathematics 7-12 Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 148 | $120 | Biology 7-12 Source |
| Chemistry Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5246 | 140 | $130 | Chemistry 7-12 Source |
| Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 147 | $130 | Social Studies 7-12 Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Duplicate license copy, paper application paid by money order (online requests are paid by card) | $5 | Source |
Background check
Anyone doing field experience or student teaching in Mississippi schools, including candidates from out-of-state programs, must hold a Pre-Service Teacher License, which requires documentation of a cleared criminal background check; the Resident Teacher License and the Performance-Based Teacher License carry the same requirement. Under Miss. Code Ann. 37-3-2(11), as set out in the guidelines, a license application may be denied for a felony conviction or guilty plea, or while on felony probation, and must be denied for a sex offense conviction or guilty plea. The guidelines do not set a background check fee. Source
Your first license
License: Five Year Educator License (Class A). It is valid for 5 years. Class levels follow the highest degree: Class A (bachelor's), AA (master's), AAA (specialist) and AAAA (doctorate). Licenses expire on June 30 of the expiration year, and a five-year license issued during a school year counts that year as its first. Alternate route candidates start on a three-year alternate route license (one year for American Board) before the five-year license. Source
Renewal
Only a five-year standard license can be renewed, for one five-year period beyond its expiration date, using credits earned within the renewal cycle shown on the license. Class A holders need 10 CEUs, 6 semester hours, or 3 semester hours plus 5 CEUs in their content or job/skill area, and Class AA, AAA and AAAA holders need 3 semester hours or 5 CEUs. Completing the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards process, official documentation of retirement from Mississippi public schools, or a valid standard out-of-state license submitted in the final year of the Mississippi license also qualifies. Coursework needs a grade of C or higher, and 10 contact or clock hours equal 1 CEU. Requirement: Class A: 10 CEUs, 6 semester hours, or 3 semester hours plus 5 CEUs every 5 years (Class AA and above: 3 semester hours or 5 CEUs). Source
Teacher pay in Mississippi
Elementary teachers in Mississippi earned a median of $49,790 a year in May 2025, $14,180 below the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $49,790 | $52,300 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $50,790 | $52,930 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $50,980 | $53,690 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $50,570 | $53,290 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $50,750 | $53,070 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $51,970 | $54,230 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Mississippi reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- Special Education (statewide)
- World Languages (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Mississippi?
Mississippi uses Praxis and Foundations of Reading. Core tests include Core Academic Skills for Educators: Combined (Reading 5713, Writing 5723, Mathematics 5733) (5752); Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (5017); Foundations of Reading for Mississippi (890); Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (5534). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Mississippi Department of Education, Educator Licensure before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Mississippi without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Candidates with a non-education bachelor's degree from a regionally or nationally accredited institution qualify with a 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent), a qualifying Praxis Core score, or a 3.0 GPA overall or on the last 60 hours, plus a passing Praxis Subject Assessment. This page lists 15 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Mississippi?
Published fees include Duplicate license copy, paper application paid by money order (online requests are paid by card): $5. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Mississippi Department of Education, Educator Licensure.
Does Mississippi accept teaching licenses from other states?
The department grants a standard five-year license to anyone who holds a valid standard license from another state, or from another country or political subdivision, within 21 days of a completed application. Contact the Mississippi Department of Education, Educator Licensure before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Mississippi?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Mississippi was $49,790 for elementary teachers, $50,790 for middle school teachers and $50,980 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Overview of Mississippi Testing Requirements ETS (Praxis) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Mississippi Required Tests (Praxis) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Foundations of Reading for Mississippi Pearson (National Evaluation Series) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- National Evaluation Series state configuration (Mississippi policy information on the Foundations of Reading requirement) Pearson (National Evaluation Series) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Guidelines for Mississippi Educator Licensure K-12 (Dec 2023), 7 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 4 Mississippi Department of Education, Division of Educator Licensure (filed with the Mississippi Secretary of State) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Mississippi US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS280000000000025202113, OEUS280000000000025202213, OEUS280000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)