No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Approved Educator Preparation Program (Initial Professional License)
Candidates complete an approved educator preparation program and then apply for a professional educator's license through the NCDPI Online Licensure System. The application includes degree-dated transcripts, any licensure exam scores, and Form V verifying program completion. New teachers usually start on the Initial Professional License, which lasts three years, and convert to the Continuing Professional License after three years of teaching and passing the required exams.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program.
- Take the licensure exams for your area; exams must be attempted in the first year of the license and passed by the third year.
- Gather degree-dated transcripts, exam scores and Form V from your institution.
- Apply in the NCDPI Online Licensure System, upload the documents and pay the non-refundable fee.
- Teach for three years and pass all required exams to convert the Initial Professional License to a Continuing Professional License.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Residency License
The Residency License lets a person teach in a North Carolina public school or charter school while enrolled in an approved educator preparation program. It is a one-year license that may be renewed twice, for a cycle of up to three years, and it is issued in the teaching area that matches the candidate's qualifications. Only the enrolling program and the hiring school system can start the application, using Form RL, and residents must complete content exams and a performance or pedagogy assessment (edTPA or PPAT).
- Get hired to teach by a North Carolina public school system or charter school.
- Enroll in an approved educator preparation program that confirms you are qualified.
- Have the program and the employing school system submit Form RL for the Residency License.
- Teach on the one-year license, renewable twice, while completing the program.
- Pass the required content exams and edTPA or PPAT, then qualify for a professional license.
Changing careers into teaching in North Carolina
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 15 programs below are on the state's approved list, and one of them says its coursework is online.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in North Carolina was $57,650 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| iteach | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Teachers of Tomorrow | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Moreland University (TEACH-NOW) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Western Governors University | Yes | State list | Visit |
| #T.E.A.C.H. | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Pathway to Practice NC | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Want More Do More | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Aspire Teacher Prep | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| CMS Teaching Residency | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Guilford County Schools ACT | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| CCTI:Wake | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| CCTI:Durham | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Caldwell County Educator Pathway | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| KIPP NC Teacher U | Not stated | State list | |
| Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools Teacher Residency | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in North Carolina.
Out-of-State Applicants
North Carolina defines reciprocity as acknowledging completion of an approved educator preparation program in another state, and it recognizes approved programs from all states. Applicants with three or more years of classroom teaching may use exams taken in another state when North Carolina has a comparable license area, provided they met the test developer's recommended passing score. Out-of-state teachers must submit effectiveness data with a Continuing Professional License application; without it they may only qualify for the Initial Professional License.
- Gather transcripts, your out-of-state license, exam scores and verification of your approved preparation program.
- Have each employer complete Form E to verify prior teaching experience.
- Include effectiveness data from your previous state if you are applying for the Continuing Professional License.
- Apply and pay through the NCDPI Online Licensure System.
- Complete any North Carolina exams not covered by comparable out-of-state tests.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
North Carolina uses Pearson (NC), Praxis, edTPA and PPAT for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foundations of Reading Pearson (NC) · Reading instruction | 890 | 233 | $139 | Elementary Education (K-6) and Exceptional Children: General Curriculum (K-12), in-state and out-of-state initial applicants Source |
| General Curriculum: Mathematics Subtest Pearson (NC) · Subject knowledge | 227 | $94 | Elementary Education (K-6) and Exceptional Children: General Curriculum (K-12); the Multi-Subject subtest is no longer required Source | |
| Performance/pedagogy assessment (edTPA or PPAT) edTPA or PPAT · Performance assessment | Not published | Not published | Required with content exams to convert to a Continuing Professional License and for Residency License candidates Source | |
| Core Academic Skills For Educators: Reading Praxis · Basic skills | 5713 | 156 | $90 | All Areas Source |
| Core Academic Skills For Educators: Writing Praxis · Basic skills | 5723 | 162 | $90 | All Areas Source |
| Core Academic Skills For Educators: Mathematics Praxis · Basic skills | 5733 | 150 | $90 | All Areas Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): PreK-12 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5625 | 157 | $156 | Licenses for PreK-12 (ETS lists this test for several license areas) Source |
| Elementary Education: Mathematics CKT Praxis · Subject knowledge | 7813 | 150 | $78 | Elementary Education (K-5) Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | Special Education: Cross Categorical Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | English (Secondary) Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Mathematics (Secondary) Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Biology (Secondary) Source |
| Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 153 | $130 | Social Studies (Comprehensive, Secondary) Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Professional educator's license application service fees (non-refundable) | $30 - $100 | Source |
| Lifetime license processing fee | $60 | Source |
Background check
Not published by the state; check with the agency.
Your first license
License: Initial Professional License (IPL). It is valid for 3 years, non-renewable. Required exams must be attempted in the first year of the license and passed before or during the third year. The IPL converts to a Continuing Professional License after at least three years of teaching experience and passing all required licensure exams. Source
Renewal
The Continuing Professional License must be renewed every five years, on or after April 15 of the year it expires, through the NCDPI Online Licensure System. Renewal requires 8 units of renewal credit, where one unit equals 10 clock hours: K-5 teachers need 3 subject area, 3 literacy and 2 general credits, and 6-12 teachers need 4 subject area and 4 general credits. Requirement: 8 renewal credits (80 clock hours) every 5 years. Source
Teacher pay in North Carolina
Elementary teachers in North Carolina earned a median of $54,930 a year in May 2025, $9,040 below the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $54,930 | $54,070 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $52,010 | $53,350 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $57,650 | $55,760 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $58,260 | $57,160 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $59,360 | $57,680 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $56,770 | $55,540 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
North Carolina reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Career and Technical Education (statewide)
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
- Language Arts (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- Social Studies (statewide)
- Special Education: Exceptional Children (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in North Carolina?
North Carolina uses Pearson (NC), Praxis, edTPA and PPAT. Core tests include Foundations of Reading (890); General Curriculum: Mathematics Subtest; Performance/pedagogy assessment (edTPA or PPAT); Core Academic Skills For Educators: Reading (5713). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, Educator Licensure before you register.
Can you become a teacher in North Carolina without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. The Residency License lets a person teach in a North Carolina public school or charter school while enrolled in an approved educator preparation program. This page lists 15 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in North Carolina?
Published fees include Professional educator's license application service fees (non-refundable): $30 - $100; Lifetime license processing fee: $60. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, Educator Licensure.
Does North Carolina accept teaching licenses from other states?
North Carolina defines reciprocity as acknowledging completion of an approved educator preparation program in another state, and it recognizes approved programs from all states. Contact the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, Educator Licensure before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in North Carolina?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in North Carolina was $54,930 for elementary teachers, $52,010 for middle school teachers and $57,650 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Educator's Licensure North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Apply for a NC Educator License North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Further Educator License Information North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Residency Licensure North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Forms and FAQs North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Renew or Update Your Professional Educator's License North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Lifetime License North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved Educator Preparation Programs North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved programs list (CSV export, 2026-11-04) North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (accessed November 7, 2026)
- North Carolina Educator Licensure Testing (Pearson) Pearson Evaluation Systems (accessed November 7, 2026)
- What tests do I need to take? Pearson Evaluation Systems (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Foundations of Reading (890) Pearson Evaluation Systems (accessed November 7, 2026)
- General Curriculum Pearson Evaluation Systems (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Core Academic Skills For Educators: Reading (5713) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Core Academic Skills For Educators: Writing (5723) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Core Academic Skills For Educators: Mathematics (5733) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): PreK–12 (5625) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Elementary Education: Mathematics CKT (7813) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Social Studies (5581) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- North Carolina Required Tests (Praxis) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, North Carolina US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS370000000000025202113, OEUS370000000000025202213, OEUS370000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)