No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
GaPSC-approved educator preparation program
Candidates enroll in a bachelor's, master's or certification-only program that leads to initial educator certification and includes student teaching, field experiences or a practicum. Georgia program completers must pass the GACE content assessment for the field, the Ethics for Teachers Assessment (351) and the aligned literacy assessment. Completers receive a 5-Year Induction certificate, which converts to a Professional certificate after three years of successful educator experience.
- Choose a grade level and subject and check its requirements in the Certificate Explorer
- Complete a GaPSC-approved preparation program that includes clinical experience
- Pass the GACE content assessment and the aligned GACE literacy assessment
- Complete the GACE Ethics for Teachers Assessment (351)
- Apply for the 5-Year Induction certificate through a MyPSC account
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Georgia Teacher Academy for Preparation and Pedagogy (GaTAPP)
GaTAPP is described by the GaPSC as Georgia's only alternative route to initial teacher certification, for career changers and recent graduates with a bachelor's degree who have not completed a teacher preparation program. Candidates must pass the GACE content assessment at the Induction level (or hold a major in the field) and the ethics assessment, then be hired as a classroom teacher so the employer can request a 3-year, non-renewable Provisional certificate. They complete an approved GaTAPP program of at least one school year (most run 18 months to 2 years) and then convert to an Induction or Professional certificate.
- Earn a bachelor's degree or higher
- Pass the appropriate GACE content assessment at the Induction level or higher
- Complete the GACE Ethics for Teachers Assessment (351)
- Get hired by a Georgia school district, accredited private school or approved charter school, which requests a Provisional certificate
- Enroll in and complete a GaPSC-approved GaTAPP program within three years
- Convert the Provisional certificate to an Induction or Professional certificate
Changing careers into teaching in Georgia
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 14 programs below are on the state's approved list, and one of them says its coursework is online.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Georgia was $75,480 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| iteach | Yes | State list | Visit |
| Metro RESA | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Central Savannah River Area RESA | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Chattahoochee-Flint RESA | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| First District RESA | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Griffin RESA | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Middle Georgia RESA | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Clayton County Public Schools | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Dekalb County School District | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Forsyth County Schools | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Fulton County Schools | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Gwinnett County Public Schools | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| TCSG - Wiregrass Technical College | Not stated | State list | |
| Georgia Charter Schools Association | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Georgia.
Interstate reciprocity for out-of-state educators
Educators with a valid or expired professional certificate from another state, DC or a qualifying jurisdiction such as DoDEA, based on a state-approved program with pedagogy and clinical practice, can apply for a comparable Georgia certificate. Reciprocity does not guarantee a Georgia certificate, and Special Georgia Requirements may need to be met before or after issuance. Effective July 1, 2026, out-of-state applicants in teaching fields must also pass a Georgia-approved or GaPSC-accepted literacy assessment.
- Submit the online application through a MyPSC account with Verification of Lawful Presence
- Provide a copy of the out-of-state professional certificate and an Experience Verification Form if applicable
- Send official content and literacy assessment score reports
- Have all colleges send official transcripts electronically to the GaPSC
- Pay the $20 processing fee through MyPSC unless an employer's Employer Assurance Form waives it
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Georgia uses GACE for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GACE Ethics for Teachers GACE · Other | 351 | Complete all modules and pass the final summative assessment with 77% (23 or more out of 30 questions) | $30 | Provisional, Induction and Professional teaching certificates Source |
| Elementary Education (P-5) GACE · Subject knowledge | 702 (testlets 001-005) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all five testlets); $34 per testlet | Elementary Education (P-5) Source |
| Birth Through Kindergarten (B-K) GACE · Subject knowledge | 701 (testlets 006-008) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all three testlets); $56.50 per testlet | Birth Through Kindergarten Source |
| Special Education General Curriculum (P-12) GACE · Subject knowledge | 735 (testlets 407, 408, 503) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all three testlets) | Special Education General Curriculum (P-12) Source |
| Application of the Science of Reading GACE · Reading instruction | 418 | A scaled score of 220 or higher | $90 | Birth through K, Elementary Education (P-5), Special Education (P-12) General and Adapted Curriculum and related fields Source |
| Fundamentals of the Science of Reading GACE · Reading instruction | 350 | A scaled score of 220 or higher | $90 | Middle Grades (4-8) content fields, most Secondary (6-12) fields and several P-12 fields Source |
| English (6-12) GACE · Subject knowledge | 713 (testlets 218, 219, 220) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all three testlets); $56.50 per testlet | English (6-12) Source |
| Mathematics (6-12) GACE · Subject knowledge | 711 (six testlets) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all testlets) | Mathematics (6-12) Source |
| Biology (6-12) GACE · Subject knowledge | 710 (testlets 206, 207, 208) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all three testlets); $56.50 per testlet | Biology (6-12) Source |
| History (6-12) GACE · Subject knowledge | 721 (testlets 242-245) | 220 total cumulative points or higher and meet the floor for each testlet | $169 (all four testlets) | History (6-12) Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Certification processing fee (maximum per application; many first certificates and LUA-requested transactions are exempt) | $20 | Source |
| Certificate renewal processing fee for educators not employed by a Georgia public or charter school | $20 | Source |
Background check
Employment in a Georgia public school includes federal and state background checks, and the employing school system sets the procedures for starting the process. Certification applicants answer Personal Affirmation Questions, and false answers may lead to disciplinary action. The GaPSC also checks all applicants against the NASDTEC database and honors sanctions imposed by other states. Source
Your first license
License: 5-Year Induction certificate. It is valid for 5 years. Generally non-renewable. Holders convert to a Professional certificate after three years of successful educator experience. Alternative route teachers start on a 3-year, non-renewable Provisional certificate requested by their employer. Source
Renewal
Renewable Professional certificates are valid for five years and can be renewed from December 1 of the year before expiration. Public and charter school employees are renewed through an employer request. Educators not employed in a P-12 setting complete one option such as 6 semester hours of college credit, 10 CEUs or 10 PLUs (100 clock hours), or passing the GACE content assessment, and pay a $20 processing fee. Requirement: Every 5 years; for non-employed educators, one option such as 10 PLUs (100 clock hours) or 6 semester hours. Source
Teacher pay in Georgia
Elementary teachers in Georgia earned a median of $72,290 a year in May 2025, $8,320 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $72,290 | $70,720 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $64,780 | $69,780 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $75,480 | $72,000 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $72,880 | $72,090 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $70,550 | $71,040 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $74,150 | $73,780 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Georgia reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
- Language Arts (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- Special Education (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Georgia?
Georgia uses GACE. Core tests include GACE Ethics for Teachers (351); Elementary Education (P-5) (702 (testlets 001-005)); Birth Through Kindergarten (B-K) (701 (testlets 006-008)); Special Education General Curriculum (P-12) (735 (testlets 407, 408, 503)). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC), Certification Division before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Georgia without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. GaTAPP is described by the GaPSC as Georgia's only alternative route to initial teacher certification, for career changers and recent graduates with a bachelor's degree who have not completed a teacher preparation program. This page lists 14 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Georgia?
Published fees include Certification processing fee (maximum per application; many first certificates and LUA-requested transactions are exempt): $20; Certificate renewal processing fee for educators not employed by a Georgia public or charter school: $20. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC), Certification Division.
Does Georgia accept teaching licenses from other states?
Educators with a valid or expired professional certificate from another state, DC or a qualifying jurisdiction such as DoDEA, based on a state-approved program with pedagogy and clinical practice, can apply for a comparable Georgia certificate. Contact the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC), Certification Division before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Georgia?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Georgia was $72,290 for elementary teachers, $64,780 for middle school teachers and $75,480 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Certification Division home Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Steps to Become a Teacher Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Tiered Certification Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Induction certificate Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Provisional certificate Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GaTAPP Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GaTAPP Candidate Admission Requirements Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GaTAPP Approved Providers Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Out-of-State Educators Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Fees Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Certificate Renewal Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Professional Ethics / Background Checks Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Content Assessments Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Literacy Assessments Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Pedagogy Assessments Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Testing FAQs Georgia Professional Standards Commission (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 351 Ethics for Teachers Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 702 Elementary Education (P-5) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 701 Birth Through Kindergarten (B-K) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 735 Special Education General Curriculum (P-12) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 418 Application of the Science of Reading Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 350 Fundamentals of the Science of Reading Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 713 English (6-12) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 711 Mathematics (6-12) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 710 Biology (6-12) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE 721 History (6-12) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- GACE test configuration (fees by test) Pearson (GACE) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Georgia US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS130000000000025202113, OEUS130000000000025202213, OEUS130000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)