No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
In Michigan, candidates are recommended for a teaching certificate by an educator preparation provider (EPP) approved by the Michigan State Board of Education, and each provider must also be approved for the specific grade bands and endorsement areas it offers. Every Michigan EPP must be nationally accredited through CAEP or AAQEP. The Michigan Department of Education publishes a searchable database of approved programs and gives each provider an annual performance score and effectiveness label; providers labeled At Risk or Low Performing work with MDE on corrective action.
- Search the MDE database of approved educator preparation programs.
- Check the provider's annual performance score and effectiveness label.
- Choose a program approved for the grade band and endorsement area to be taught.
- Complete the approved program.
- Receive the provider's recommendation for a Michigan teaching certificate.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Alternative Route to Teacher Certification
Michigan's alternative route is an expedited, non-traditional preparation program for people with at least a bachelor's degree, completed while working as a teacher on an Interim Teaching Certificate (ITC). Entry requires a bachelor's degree, a 3.0 cohort grade point average and a criminal background check, and approved programs include at least 12 semester credit hours of training plus a classroom field experience. The ITC is a 5-year certificate that is issued only once, cannot be renewed and requires staying enrolled in the program; after finishing the program and three years of successful teaching, the provider recommends the candidate for a Standard Teaching Certificate. Career and technical education CIP codes, early childhood, and the autism spectrum disorder, visual impairment and deaf or hard of hearing endorsements are not available through this route.
- Choose a provider from the MDE list of approved alternative route providers.
- Meet the entry criteria: a bachelor's degree, a 3.0 cohort grade point average and a criminal background check.
- Pass the MTTC for the endorsement area and complete any coursework or field experience the provider requires before recommending an ITC.
- Get hired to teach in the content area, then apply for the Interim Teaching Certificate with the provider's guidance.
- Complete the whole program and teach successfully for three years.
- Apply in MOECS for the Standard Teaching Certificate with the provider's recommendation.
Changing careers into teaching in Michigan
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 9 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Michigan was $66,030 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| #T.E.A.C.H. | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Davenport University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Detroit Public Schools Community District (DPSCD) On the Rise Academy | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Teachers of Tomorrow | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Paradigm for Education | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Professional Innovators in Teaching | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Schoolcraft College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| University of Michigan - Flint | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| University of Michigan - Michigan Alternate Route to Certification (M-ARC) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Michigan.
Candidates who completed an out-of-state teacher preparation program apply for Michigan certification through the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) before any testing guidance is given. After the application is submitted, the evaluation fee is paid and all requested documents are sent, the application is evaluated and an evaluation report is issued listing any MTTC tests still required.
- Apply for Michigan certification through MOECS.
- Pay the evaluation fee.
- Send all documentation the department requests.
- Review the evaluation report for any testing requirements.
- Register for and pass any MTTC tests the report lists.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Michigan uses MTTC for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lower Elementary (PK-3) Education MTTC · Subject knowledge | 117-120 | 220 | Subtests 1, 2 and 3: $59 per subtest; Subtest 4: $69 | Lower Elementary Education (ZO) endorsement: pass subtests 118, 119, 120 and either 117 or 121 Source |
| Upper Elementary (3-6) Education MTTC · Subject knowledge | 121-124 | 220 | Subtests 1, 2 and 3: $59 per subtest; Subtest 4: $69 | Upper Elementary Education (ZP) endorsement: pass subtests 122, 123, 124 and either 121 or 117 Source |
| Early Childhood General and Special Education (Birth-K) MTTC · Subject knowledge | 134 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement code ZN Source |
| Learning Disabilities MTTC · Subject knowledge | 114 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement code SM Source |
| Professional Knowledge and Skills (5-9) MTTC · Teaching knowledge | 135 | 220 | $59 | Source |
| Professional Knowledge and Skills (7-12) MTTC · Teaching knowledge | 136 | 220 | $59 | Source |
| English Language Arts (7-12) MTTC · Subject knowledge | 130 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement code BQ Source |
| Mathematics (7-12) MTTC · Subject knowledge | 131 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement code EQ Source |
| Science (7-12) MTTC · Subject knowledge | 138 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement code DQ Source |
| Biology MTTC · Subject knowledge | 017 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement codes DA, IA Source |
| Social Studies (7-12) MTTC · Subject knowledge | 142 | 220 | $129 | Endorsement code CQ Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Standard Teaching Certificate evaluation fee (in-state applicant) | $160 | Source |
| Standard Teaching Certificate evaluation fee (out-of-state applicant) | $210 | Source |
| Interim Teaching Certificate evaluation fee | $160 | Source |
| Professional Teaching Certificate evaluation fee (in-state applicant) | $160 | Source |
| Professional Teaching Certificate evaluation fee (out-of-state applicant) | $210 | Source |
| Additional endorsement | $50 | Source |
| Standard Teaching Certificate renewal | $100 | Source |
| Professional Teaching Certificate renewal | $160 | Source |
| Substitute Teaching Permit | $45 | Source |
Background check
The Michigan Department of Education lists a criminal background check (R 390.1201) among the legislated selectivity criteria for enrolling in an alternative route program, together with a bachelor's degree and a 3.0 cohort grade point average. Source
Your first license
License: Standard Teaching Certificate. It is valid for 5 years. It is Michigan's initial teaching certificate for teacher preparation program completers and can be renewed an unlimited number of times, with each renewal adding five years. Moving up to the Professional Teaching Certificate, Michigan's second tier, is optional. Source
Renewal
Michigan teaching certificates are valid for 5 years and expire on June 30. They can be renewed from January 1 of the expiration year, or progressed to a more advanced certificate once its requirements are met, and the Standard and Professional Teaching Certificates have unlimited renewals that each add five years. There is no state-level penalty for a lapsed certificate, though there may be local employment consequences, and the requirements are the same whether the certificate is valid or expired. Source
Teacher pay in Michigan
Elementary teachers in Michigan earned a median of $65,110 a year in May 2025, $1,140 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $65,110 | $69,000 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $63,790 | $68,160 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $66,030 | $71,200 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $74,600 | $75,380 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $76,040 | $71,920 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $78,050 | $77,810 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Michigan reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Career and Technical Education: Family and Consumer Science (statewide)
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
- English as a Second Language (statewide)
- Language Arts: Reading and Literacy (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- Special Education: All Exceptionalities (statewide)
- Support Staff: Guidance and Counseling, Library/Media Specialist, Social Worker (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Michigan?
Michigan uses MTTC. Core tests include Lower Elementary (PK-3) Education (117-120); Upper Elementary (3-6) Education (121-124); Early Childhood General and Special Education (Birth-K) (134); Learning Disabilities (114). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Michigan Department of Education, Office of Educator Excellence before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Michigan without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Michigan's alternative route is an expedited, non-traditional preparation program for people with at least a bachelor's degree, completed while working as a teacher on an Interim Teaching Certificate (ITC). This page lists 9 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Michigan?
Published fees include Standard Teaching Certificate evaluation fee (in-state applicant): $160; Standard Teaching Certificate evaluation fee (out-of-state applicant): $210; Interim Teaching Certificate evaluation fee: $160. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Michigan Department of Education, Office of Educator Excellence.
Does Michigan accept teaching licenses from other states?
Candidates who completed an out-of-state teacher preparation program apply for Michigan certification through the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) before any testing guidance is given. Contact the Michigan Department of Education, Office of Educator Excellence before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Michigan?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Michigan was $65,110 for elementary teachers, $63,790 for middle school teachers and $66,030 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC: Tests Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC: What Tests Do I Need to Take? Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Lower Elementary (PK-3) Education (117-120) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Upper Elementary (3-6) Education (121-124) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Early Childhood General and Special Education (Birth-K) (134) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Learning Disabilities (114) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Professional Knowledge and Skills (5-9) (135) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Professional Knowledge and Skills (7-12) (136) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: English Language Arts (7-12) (130) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Mathematics (7-12) (131) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Science (7-12) (138) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Biology (017) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- MTTC test page: Social Studies (7-12) (142) Evaluation Systems, Pearson (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Certification Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Certification Guidance Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Information for Educator Preparation Providers (EPPs) Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Certificate Evaluation Fees Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Recertification Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternative Routes to Teacher Certification or Endorsement Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved Alternative Route Providers Michigan Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Michigan US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS260000000000025202113, OEUS260000000000025202213, OEUS260000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)