No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Traditional Program
The traditional route is a bachelor's degree program at one of Pennsylvania's more than 100 PDE-approved preparation providers, including student teaching. After graduating, candidates pass the content area tests for their subject and apply for the Instructional I certificate through the Teacher Information Management System (TIMS). Bachelor's degree holders without an education component can instead complete a master's or post-baccalaureate certification program.
- Choose the certificate type and subject area to teach.
- Enroll in a PDE-approved certification program for that area.
- Complete the program, including student teaching, and graduate.
- Pass the required content area tests at the Pennsylvania scores.
- Apply for the Instructional I certificate in TIMS with the program's recommendation.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Experience-Based Program (formerly intern)
The Experience-Based program is an alternative route for bachelor's degree holders through a PDE-approved provider. After meeting the provider's entrance requirements and passing the content area tests, candidates receive an Experience-Based certificate, valid for 5 years of service, that lets them fill a full-time teaching position while finishing the program. The state also lists the American Board route, completed with Point Park University, as an approved alternative pathway.
- Choose the certificate type and subject area to teach.
- Apply to a PDE-approved Experience-Based program provider and meet its entrance requirements.
- Pass the content area tests for the program's subject.
- Apply in TIMS for the Experience-Based certificate.
- Complete the provider's program while teaching.
- Apply in TIMS for the Instructional I certificate.
Changing careers into teaching in Pennsylvania
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 15 programs below are on the state's approved list, and one of them says its coursework is online.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Pennsylvania was $78,800 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Board (ABCTE) | Yes | State list | Visit |
| Relay Graduate School of Education | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| City Teaching Alliance | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Chester County IU 24 | Not stated | State list | |
| Carbon Lehigh IU 21 | Not stated | State list | |
| Central Susquehanna IU 16 | Not stated | State list | |
| Luzerne IU 18 | Not stated | State list | |
| Bucks County IU 22 | Not stated | State list | |
| Midwestern IU 4 | Not stated | State list | |
| Montgomery County IU 23 | Not stated | State list | |
| Allegheny IU 3 | Not stated | State list | |
| The School District of Philadelphia | Not stated | State list | |
| Pittsburgh SD | Not stated | State list | |
| PhillyPLUS | Not stated | State list | |
| PA Association of Career and Technical Administrators (PACTA) | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Pennsylvania.
Out-of-State Educators, Pathway 1 (certificate and experience)
Educators with an active professional-level out-of-state certificate and two years of successful experience in the area can apply for the comparable Pennsylvania Level I certificate. They take the Pennsylvania content tests unless they show a comparable certificate, an approved program with student teaching, passed content tests in that state and two years of satisfactory service; the Fundamental Subjects test is not required on this pathway. Pennsylvania belongs to the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact, and applicants without a license or the required experience use Pathway 2, which requires the Pennsylvania tests.
- Identify the comparable Pennsylvania certificate.
- Submit the Level I application and fee in TIMS.
- Upload a copy of the current professional-level out-of-state certificate.
- Have employers complete Verification of Experience Form PDE 338V for two years of experience.
- Request official transcripts after submitting the application.
- Have required content test scores reported to PDE unless a testing exception applies.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Pennsylvania uses Praxis and PECT (Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests) for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fundamental Subjects: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5511 | 150 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 155 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 145 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $130 | First Pennsylvania certificate in any PK-12 area Source |
| PreK-4 Modules 1, 2 and 3 PECT · Subject knowledge | 8006, 8007, 8008 | Module 1: 197; Module 2: 193; Module 3: 193 | $46 Module 1; $46 Module 2; $53 Module 3; $131 all three modules | Grades PreK-4 Source |
| Pennsylvania Grades 4-8 Core Assessment: Pedagogy (Module 1) Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5153 | 162 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 168 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 156 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $50 | Grades 4-8 (with Modules 2 and 3 and a subject concentration) Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 153 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 139 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $130 | Special Education PK-12 Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 173 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 162 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $130 | English 7-12 Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 168 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 152 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $130 | Mathematics 7-12 Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 161 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 148 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $120 | Biology 7-12 Source |
| Chemistry Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5246 | 146 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 153 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 140 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $130 | Chemistry 7-12 Source |
| Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 153 passing score; GPA-based qualifying scores range from 160 (2.80-2.99 GPA) to 147 (3.76-4.0 GPA) | $130 | Social Studies 7-12 Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| New credential, program completed through a PA approved provider ($50 standard fee plus $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee) | $150 | Source |
| New credential, program completed outside PA ($50 standard fee plus $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee) | $150 | Source |
| Experience-Based certificate (including add-ons) | $0 | Source |
| Level II certificate | $150 | Source |
| Temporary Teaching Permit | $150 | Source |
Background check
Pennsylvania school law requires applicants for employment in public and private schools, and student teacher candidates, who will have direct contact with students to complete three background checks: the Department of Human Services Child Abuse History Clearance, the Pennsylvania State Police criminal records check, and the federal fingerprint-based Criminal History Record Information check. The clearances are tied to school employment and student teaching rather than to the certificate application. Source
Your first license
License: Instructional I (Level I) certificate. It is valid for 6 years of service. Validity counts years of actual Pennsylvania service, not calendar years. Holders must earn the Level II (permanent) certificate before completing 6 years of service. Source
Renewal
Instructional I holders convert to the permanent Instructional II before completing six years of Pennsylvania service by earning 24 credits after the bachelor's degree, completing three years of satisfactory service and a PDE-approved induction program; otherwise the certificate lapses. To keep a certificate active, educators complete Act 48 continuing education, tracked in the PERMS system; otherwise it becomes inactive. Requirement: 180 Act 48 hours per continuing education period (or 6 collegiate credits, or 6 PDE-approved CPE credits). Source
Teacher pay in Pennsylvania
Elementary teachers in Pennsylvania earned a median of $77,060 a year in May 2025, $13,090 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $77,060 | $75,780 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $77,930 | $77,630 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $78,800 | $77,650 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $72,680 | $72,340 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $77,040 | $77,460 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $77,000 | $76,080 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Pennsylvania reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science: Life Sciences (statewide)
- Special Education: All Exceptionalities (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania uses Praxis and PECT (Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests). Core tests include Fundamental Subjects: Content Knowledge (5511); PreK-4 Modules 1, 2 and 3 (8006, 8007, 8008); Pennsylvania Grades 4-8 Core Assessment: Pedagogy (Module 1) (5153); Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher Quality, Division of Certification Services before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Pennsylvania without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. The Experience-Based program is an alternative route for bachelor's degree holders through a PDE-approved provider. This page lists 15 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Pennsylvania?
Published fees include New credential, program completed through a PA approved provider ($50 standard fee plus $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee): $150; New credential, program completed outside PA ($50 standard fee plus $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee): $150; Experience-Based certificate (including add-ons): $0. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher Quality, Division of Certification Services.
Does Pennsylvania accept teaching licenses from other states?
Educators with an active professional-level out-of-state certificate and two years of successful experience in the area can apply for the comparable Pennsylvania Level I certificate. Contact the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher Quality, Division of Certification Services before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Pennsylvania?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Pennsylvania was $77,060 for elementary teachers, $77,930 for middle school teachers and $78,800 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Certification Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- New Educators Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved Certification Programs Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Out-of-State Educators Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Certification Testing Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Current Certification Test and Score Requirements (workbook, last updated 11/13/25) Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Fees and Forms Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Clearances/Background Checks Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Level I to Level II Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Act 48 and PERMS Pennsylvania Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- PECT PreK-4 Pearson Evaluation Systems (Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Fundamental Subjects: Content Knowledge (5511) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Pennsylvania Grades 4-8 Core Assessment: Pedagogy (5153) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Mathematics (5165) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Biology (5236) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Chemistry (5246) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Social Studies (5581) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Pennsylvania Teacher Certification American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Relay Graduate School of Education Relay Graduate School of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- City Teaching Alliance City Teaching Alliance (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Pennsylvania US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS420000000000025202113, OEUS420000000000025202213, OEUS420000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)