No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Undergraduate/Traditional Route
Candidates who have not completed teacher training enroll in an undergraduate teacher preparation program that includes student teaching or an internship. They then complete a one-year residency while serving on a resident certificate. Graduates of a Louisiana program contact their preparation provider for the initial certification recommendation and must pass the appropriate exams.
- Enroll in an undergraduate teacher preparation program that includes student teaching or an internship.
- Complete a one-year residency while serving on a resident certificate.
- Pass the Praxis exams required for your certification area.
- Ask your preparation provider to submit your initial certification recommendation.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Post-Baccalaureate/Alternate Certification Route
Louisiana's alternate programs lead to certification for non-education graduates and require at least a bachelor's degree for entry. There are three program types: the Practitioner Teacher Program (intensive coursework combined with full-time teaching), the Master's Degree Program (a master's degree plus certification) and the Certification-Only Program. Praxis exams are part of both the admission and completion standards, and programs are offered by colleges of education and private providers.
- Earn at least a bachelor's degree.
- Choose a state-approved alternate program: Practitioner Teacher, Master's Degree or Certification-Only.
- Pass the Praxis exams the program requires for admission.
- Complete the program's coursework and teaching requirements.
- Pass the remaining Praxis exams required for program completion and certification.
Changing careers into teaching in Louisiana
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 4 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Louisiana was $59,850 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| iteach | Not stated | State list | |
| LRCE Teach! | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Teach For America | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| TNTP | Not stated | State list | Visit |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Louisiana.
Out-of-State (OS) certificate
Teachers who completed preparation in another state can be issued a three-year Out-of-State (OS) certificate while they complete Louisiana's Praxis requirements. Teachers with at least three successful years of out-of-state teaching before the OS is issued may be excused from the Praxis exams if their Louisiana employing school system verifies the experience and submits the application, verification forms, professional conduct form and fee for the higher-level certificate. Exams from other programs such as TExES, CBEST/CSET, FTCE or NYSTCE are not accepted.
- Follow the Out-of-State (OS) Application Packet guidelines to apply for Louisiana certification.
- Receive a three-year OS certificate.
- Pass the required Praxis exams within those three years.
- If you have three or more successful years of out-of-state teaching, ask your Louisiana employer to verify that experience and submit the higher-level certificate application.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Louisiana uses Praxis for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Early Childhood Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5621 | 157 | $156 | Birth to Kindergarten and PreK-3 (Early Childhood) certification Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): K-6 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5622 | 160 | $156 | Elementary Grades 1-5 certification Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): 7-12 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5624 | 157 | $156 | Grades 6-12 core certification areas Source |
| Teaching of Reading: Elementary Praxis · Reading instruction | 5205 | 159 | $156 | Initial certification in early childhood, elementary and special education areas (the Teaching of Reading/Language Arts Elementary Subtest 7002 is an alternative) Source |
| Elementary Multiple Subjects (4 subtests) Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5001 | Reading Language Arts (5002): 157; Mathematics (5003): 157; Social Studies (5004): 155; Science (5005): 159 | $180 | PreK-3 (Early Childhood) and Elementary Grades 1-5 certification Source |
| Early Childhood Education Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5025 | 156 | $130 | Birth to Kindergarten certification Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | Special education Mild/Moderate certification (SPED pedagogy exam) Source |
| English Language Arts: Content and Analysis Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5039 | 168 | $156 | English, grades 6-12 Source |
| Mathematics: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Mathematics, grades 6-12 Source |
| Biology: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Biology, grades 6-12 Source |
| General Science: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5436 | 141 | $130 | General Science, grades 6-12 Source |
| Social Studies: Content and Interpretation Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5086 | 153 | $156 | Social Studies, grades 6-12 Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
License fees: Not verified yet: the state's website could not be reached when we checked. Check with the agency.
Background check
Since January 1, 2025, Louisiana law (R.S. 17:8.9) requires a fingerprint-based criminal background check for certification, separate from any check done for employment. Applicants schedule fingerprinting through IdentoGO with the LDOE Certification and Background Credentialing service code and pay the fingerprinting fee at the appointment. Once the check is reviewed, a non-expiring Clear Credential is added to the certification record, and it is needed before a certificate can be issued. Source
Your first license
License: Level 1 teaching certificate. Candidates who finish a BESE-approved program but have not yet passed the required exams (with scores within 10 percent of the BESE-adopted passing scores) may teach on a Temporary Employment Permit (TEP), which is initially valid for one year and renewable up to four times; passing the required exams allows advancement to the standard Level 1 certificate on the employing school system's recommendation. Source
Renewal
Renewals, extensions and requests for higher-level certificates are submitted by the human resources office of the Louisiana employing school system on the educator's behalf. Certificate validity is tied to teaching effectiveness verified through employer evaluations and to verified teaching experience. Source
Teacher pay in Louisiana
Elementary teachers in Louisiana earned a median of $58,770 a year in May 2025, $5,200 below the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $58,770 | $58,170 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $58,760 | $59,040 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $59,850 | $61,170 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $58,800 | $58,260 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $59,420 | $57,420 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $59,100 | $57,720 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Louisiana reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- English as a Second Language (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- World Languages (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Louisiana?
Louisiana uses Praxis. Core tests include Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Early Childhood (5621); Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): K-6 (5622); Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): 7-12 (5624); Teaching of Reading: Elementary (5205). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Louisiana Department of Education, Certification and Background Credentialing before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Louisiana without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Louisiana's alternate programs lead to certification for non-education graduates and require at least a bachelor's degree for entry. This page lists 4 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
Does Louisiana accept teaching licenses from other states?
Teachers who completed preparation in another state can be issued a three-year Out-of-State (OS) certificate while they complete Louisiana's Praxis requirements. Contact the Louisiana Department of Education, Certification and Background Credentialing before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Louisiana?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Louisiana was $58,770 for elementary teachers, $58,760 for middle school teachers and $59,850 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Teach Louisiana: Certification Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Pathways to Teaching (certification pathways reference document) Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teach Louisiana: Undergraduate Teacher Preparation Programs Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teach Louisiana: Alternate Teacher Preparation Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teach Louisiana: Out-of-State and Foreign Applicants Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teach Louisiana: Do I have to have Praxis exams for Louisiana certification? Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teach Louisiana: How do applicants receive higher level certificates or renew existing certificates? Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Louisiana Certification Exams and Required Scores (Praxis chart, revised July 2026) Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Fingerprinting Packet for Certification Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Louisiana Educator Certification (LEC) Applicant Guide Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Temporary Employment Permit (TEP) via Teacher Preparation Program Guidance Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Evaluation, Add-On, Course Approval, and Name Change Application (EV) Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Louisiana's Approved Teacher/Leader Preparation Programs Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved Teacher/Leader Preparation Programs provider list (embedded frame) Louisiana Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis: Louisiana Required Tests ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Early Childhood (5621) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades K-6 (5622) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades 7-12 (5624) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Early Childhood Education (5025) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: English Language Arts: Content and Analysis (5039) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: General Science (5436) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Social Studies: Content and Interpretation (5086) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teach For America Teach For America (accessed November 7, 2026)
- TNTP TNTP (accessed November 7, 2026)
- LRCE: Teacher Certification and Special Education Training Louisiana Resource Center for Educators (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Louisiana US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS220000000000025202113, OEUS220000000000025202213, OEUS220000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)