No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Traditional Route to Licensure
Candidates complete a state-approved educator preparation program at a college or university through a bachelor's, post-baccalaureate or master's program, and the institution recommends them for licensure. Applicants then apply online through the Vermont licensing system, pay the fees, meet the testing requirements and complete a fingerprint-supported criminal record check within the application. This route leads to an initial Level I license.
- Complete a state-approved educator preparation program
- Get your institution's recommendation for licensure
- Meet all testing requirements before applying
- Apply online for the initial Level I license and pay the fees
- Complete the fingerprint-supported criminal record check in the application
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Peer Review
Peer Review is Vermont's alternate route to licensure, a competency-based assessment for candidates with a bachelor's degree in a relevant field and significant teaching experience or content knowledge who have not completed a traditional preparation program. It provides no instruction: candidates build an online portfolio that licensed educators score against the Core Teaching and Leadership Standards and endorsement competencies, then meet an interview panel. The result is either a recommendation for licensure or a Plan of Action listing further requirements.
- Complete all testing requirements before applying
- Apply through the online licensing system for an eligibility review
- Attend a Peer Review Clinic and complete its survey
- Build and submit the online portfolio
- Complete the interview with a panel of licensed educators
- Receive a licensure recommendation or a Plan of Action
Changing careers into teaching in Vermont
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 4 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Vermont was $76,220 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer Review | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Teacher Apprenticeship Program | Not stated | State list | |
| Spark | Not stated | State list | |
| Vermont Higher Education Collaborative | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Vermont.
Reciprocity
Vermont accepts professional teaching licenses from all U.S. jurisdictions under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement, including jurisdictions that have not signed it. A non-conditional professional license from another state qualifies for an initial Vermont license in the equivalent endorsement and exempts the applicant from Vermont testing for that endorsement. Regardless of experience, reciprocity applicants receive a Level I license and become eligible for Level II after three years of teaching in Vermont.
- Confirm you hold a non-conditional professional license from another U.S. jurisdiction
- Check Vermont's jurisdiction-specific requirements for your endorsement, such as a bachelor's degree
- Apply online for an initial Vermont educator license
- Complete the fingerprint-supported criminal record check
- Document 6 credits or 90 hours of recent professional learning if your out-of-state license has expired
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Vermont uses Praxis for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Academic Skills for Educators: Core Combined Praxis · Basic skills | 5752 | Reading (5713) 156; Writing (5723) 162; Mathematics (5733) 146 | $150 | Most license candidates (Vermont requires most candidates to take Praxis Core) Source |
| Elementary Education Fundamentals: Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 8003 | 152 | $79 | Elementary Education (accepted beginning September 1, 2026) Source |
| Elementary Education Fundamentals: Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 8004 | 147 | $79 | Elementary Education (accepted beginning September 1, 2026) Source |
| Elementary Education Fundamentals: Science Praxis · Subject knowledge | 8005 | 143 | $79 | Elementary Education (accepted beginning September 1, 2026) Source |
| Elementary Education Fundamentals: Teaching Reading Praxis · Reading instruction | 8006 | 152 | $79 | Elementary Education and Special Education (accepted beginning September 1, 2026) Source |
| Early Childhood Education Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5025 | 156 | $130 | Early Childhood Education (Birth to Grade 3 and PK to Grade 3) Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | Provisional Special Education license Source |
| English Language Arts: Content and Analysis Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5039 | 168 | $156 | Secondary English (7-12) Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Secondary Mathematics (7-12) Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Secondary Biology (7-12) Source |
| Social Studies: Content and Interpretation Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5086 | 153 | $156 | Secondary Social Studies (7-12) Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Level I license, initial or renewal (3-year term; also apprenticeship license), includes $50 nonrefundable processing fee | $200 | Source |
| Level II license (5-year term), includes $50 nonrefundable processing fee | $300 | Source |
| Provisional license (2-year term) | $150 | Source |
| Emergency license (1-year term) | $100 | Source |
| Criminal record check (as of October 1, 2026) | $15 | Source |
| License download fee, per license | $10 | Source |
| Peer Review alternate route, per endorsement (waived by the legislature through June 30, 2029), plus license fees | $1,200 | Source |
Background check
All applicants must complete a fingerprint-supported criminal record check, which is completed within the online license application. Fee: $15. Source
Your first license
License: Level I Professional Educator License. It is valid for 3 years. The Level II license has a 5-year term; educators licensed through reciprocity become eligible for Level II after three years of teaching in Vermont. Source
Renewal
Renewal requires new professional learning for each endorsement on the license. A Level I renewal needs three credits (45 hours) per endorsement, at least one credit tied to the endorsement's knowledge and performance standards, while a Level II renewal needs six credits (90 hours) per endorsement, at least two credits tied to those standards and the rest within the Core Teaching and Leadership Standards. Requirement: Level II: 6 credits (90 hours) per endorsement each 5-year term; Level I: 3 credits (45 hours) per endorsement each 3-year term. Source
Teacher pay in Vermont
Elementary teachers in Vermont earned a median of $63,070 a year in May 2025, $900 below the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $63,070 | $68,410 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $73,940 | $72,710 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $76,220 | $72,350 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $74,200 | $72,160 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $73,110 | $72,150 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $79,360 | $75,820 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Vermont reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Administrative: Principal (in some districts or regions)
- Art and Music Education: Art, Music, Theatre (in some districts or regions)
- Career and Technical Education: Construction Technology, Health and Medical Occupations, Public Safety/Protective Services, Transportation Careers (in some districts or regions)
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (in some districts or regions)
- Early Childhood: Early Childhood and Elementary Education (in some districts or regions)
- Health and Physical Fitness: Health Science, Physical Education (in some districts or regions)
- Language Arts: English (in some districts or regions)
- Social Studies (in some districts or regions)
- Support Staff: Guidance and Counseling, Library/Media Specialist, Nurse, Social Worker (statewide and in specific districts or regions)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Vermont?
Vermont uses Praxis. Core tests include Core Academic Skills for Educators: Core Combined (5752); Elementary Education Fundamentals: Mathematics (8003); Elementary Education Fundamentals: Social Studies (8004); Elementary Education Fundamentals: Science (8005). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Vermont Agency of Education, Educator Licensing before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Vermont without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Peer Review is Vermont's alternate route to licensure, a competency-based assessment for candidates with a bachelor's degree in a relevant field and significant teaching experience or content knowledge who have not completed a traditional preparation program. This page lists 4 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Vermont?
Published fees include Level I license, initial or renewal (3-year term; also apprenticeship license), includes $50 nonrefundable processing fee: $200; Level II license (5-year term), includes $50 nonrefundable processing fee: $300; Provisional license (2-year term): $150; background check: $15. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Vermont Agency of Education, Educator Licensing.
Does Vermont accept teaching licenses from other states?
Vermont accepts professional teaching licenses from all U.S. Contact the Vermont Agency of Education, Educator Licensing before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Vermont?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Vermont was $63,070 for elementary teachers, $73,940 for middle school teachers and $76,220 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Educators & Licensure Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Vermont Agency of Education Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Become a Vermont Educator Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Traditional Route to Licensure Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternative Route to Licensure (Peer Review) Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Reciprocity Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Interstate Agreement Frequently Asked Questions Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Reciprocity: Using an Educator License from Another State or U.S. Jurisdiction (FAQ, revised 9-25-26) Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Testing Requirements Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensing Fee Schedule Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensing Fee Schedule (PDF) Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Temporary Licensure Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Renew Your License Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Programs Approved for the Preparation of Educators Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Programs Approved for the Preparation of Educators (spreadsheet, September 25, 2026) Vermont Agency of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Vermont Required Tests (Praxis) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Core Combined (5752) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education Fundamentals: Mathematics (8003) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education Fundamentals: Social Studies (8004) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education Fundamentals: Science (8005) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education Fundamentals: Teaching Reading (8006) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Early Childhood Education (5025) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: English Language Arts: Content and Analysis (5039) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Social Studies: Content and Interpretation (5086) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Vermont US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS500000000000025202113, OEUS500000000000025202213, OEUS500000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)