No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS), Traditional Route
The CEAS is for candidates who complete an approved New Jersey educator preparation program, including professional education coursework that ends in supervised clinical practice, and who meet the academic study and test requirements. The preparation program nominates the candidate for the CEAS. After a district hires the candidate it requests a provisional certificate, and the teacher completes the Provisional Teacher Process before receiving the permanent standard certificate.
- Earn at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university.
- Meet the minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00 (2.75 for graduates before September 1, 2016), or use the GPA and Praxis flexibility rule.
- Complete an approved New Jersey educator preparation program with supervised clinical practice.
- Pass the required Praxis subject test for the endorsement.
- Meet the physiology and hygiene requirement through military training, a qualifying college course, or the online test.
- Accept the program's nomination for the CEAS in NJEdCert and pay the fee.
- Get hired, complete the Provisional Teacher Process, and receive the standard certificate.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Certificate of Eligibility (CE), Alternate Route
The CE is for candidates who have not completed a teacher preparation program but meet the degree, GPA, academic study and test requirements, and it lets the holder seek a teaching job in New Jersey public schools. Before starting work, candidates complete 50 hours of pre-professional experience with an approved CE program provider. Once hired, they teach on a provisional certificate while completing the Provisional Teacher Process, including at least 30 weeks of mentoring and the remaining 350 hours of formal instruction.
- Earn at least a bachelor's degree with a minimum 3.00 GPA (2.75 for graduates before September 1, 2016).
- Pass the required Praxis subject test and meet the basic skills and physiology and hygiene requirements.
- Apply for the CE through NJEdCert.
- Complete 50 hours of pre-professional experience with an approved CE educator preparation program.
- Get hired; the district requests a provisional certificate and enrolls you in the Provisional Teacher Process.
- Complete mentoring, the remaining 350 hours of formal instruction, and two effective or highly effective annual ratings within three years.
- Receive the standard certificate after the district recommends you and you complete the oath and payment in NJEdCert.
Changing careers into teaching in New Jersey
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 15 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in New Jersey was $82,200 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| iteach | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Relay Graduate School of Education | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Rutgers University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Rowan University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Montclair State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Kean University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Monmouth University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Rider University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Stockton University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| The College of New Jersey | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Jersey City University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Jersey Center for Teacher and Learning | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Essex County College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Brookdale Community College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in New Jersey.
Reciprocity
Out-of-state teachers must hold a license equivalent to the New Jersey certificate type, subject area and grade level. Holders of a valid standard certificate from another state need at least two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years, documented on the Record of Professional Experience form, or a National Board certificate in the equivalent area. Holders of a CEAS-equivalent license must have completed a preparation program with student teaching and passed a subject-matter test, and CE-equivalent holders may enroll in the Alternate Route Interstate Reciprocity Pilot Program at Rowan University or Rutgers University-Newark.
- Confirm that your out-of-state license matches the New Jersey certificate type, subject and grade level.
- For a standard certificate, document at least two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years on the Record of Professional Experience form, or hold a matching National Board certificate.
- For a CEAS, show completion of a preparation program with student teaching and a passing subject-matter test.
- Meet the physiology and hygiene requirement.
- Apply and pay the fee through the NJEdCert system.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
New Jersey uses Praxis for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Academic Skills for Educators Combined Test Praxis · Basic skills | 5752 | Reading (5713) 156; Writing (5723) 162; Math (5733) 150 | $150 | Limited CE and limited CEAS applicants; the basic skills requirement was removed for most instructional certificates effective January 1, 2025 Source |
| Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5001 | Reading and Language Arts (5002) 157; Mathematics (5003) 157; Social Studies (5004) 155; Science (5005) 159 | $180 | Elementary School Teacher K-6 Source |
| Early Childhood Education Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5025 | 156 | $130 | Preschool through Grade 3 Source |
| No Praxis subject test required (Special Education is exempt) Praxis · Other | Not published | Not published | Teacher of Students with Disabilities Source | |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | English Source |
| Middle School English Language Arts Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5047 | 164 | $156 | Middle School: English Language Arts (grades 5-8) Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Mathematics Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Biological Science Source |
| Chemistry Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5246 | 156 | $130 | Chemistry; Physical Science Source |
| Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 153 | $130 | Social Studies Source |
| Teaching Reading: K-12 Praxis · Reading instruction | 5206 | 159 | $156 | Reading endorsement Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Limited CE or limited CEAS (pilot program, includes issuance of the provisional and standard certificates) | $170 | Source |
| Fingerprinting by Idemia (covers Idemia, State Police and FBI fees) | $68.98 | Source |
| Office of Student Protection administrative fee for criminal history check | $10 | Source |
| Online payment service charge for criminal history check | $1 | Source |
Background check
The Office of Student Protection runs criminal history checks through the New Jersey State Police and the FBI for people seeking work in public, charter, nonpublic and approved private schools. New applicants pay the administrative fee online, then schedule fingerprinting with Idemia, and the approval appears in the Applicant Approval Employment History about two weeks later. The applicant pays all background check fees, which the employer may choose to reimburse. Fee: $68.98 fingerprinting plus $10 administrative fee and $1 service charge. Source
Your first license
License: Certificate of Eligibility (CE) or Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS), followed by a Provisional certificate. It is valid for Provisional certificate valid up to 2 years (expires July 31 of the second year), renewable once. The CE or CEAS lets the holder seek employment. The hiring district requests the provisional certificate, and candidates cannot apply for it directly. Completing the Provisional Teacher Process leads to the permanent standard certificate. Source
Renewal
The New Jersey standard certificate is a permanent certificate. The agency pages describe no renewal cycle for it; the district requests it after mentoring, evaluations and program completion are verified. Source
Teacher pay in New Jersey
Elementary teachers in New Jersey earned a median of $78,200 a year in May 2025, $14,230 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $78,200 | $82,120 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $78,770 | $81,690 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $82,200 | $87,100 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $76,660 | $80,520 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $79,110 | $82,680 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $83,770 | $88,760 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
New Jersey reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Career and Technical Education (statewide)
- English as a Second Language: Bilingual Education, English as a Second Language (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Science (statewide)
- Special Education (statewide)
- World Languages (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in New Jersey?
New Jersey uses Praxis. Core tests include Core Academic Skills for Educators Combined Test (5752); Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001); Early Childhood Education (5025); No Praxis subject test required (Special Education is exempt). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the New Jersey Department of Education, Educator Certification before you register.
Can you become a teacher in New Jersey without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. The CE is for candidates who have not completed a teacher preparation program but meet the degree, GPA, academic study and test requirements, and it lets the holder seek a teaching job in New Jersey public schools. This page lists 15 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in New Jersey?
Published fees include Limited CE or limited CEAS (pilot program, includes issuance of the provisional and standard certificates): $170; Fingerprinting by Idemia (covers Idemia, State Police and FBI fees): $68.98; Office of Student Protection administrative fee for criminal history check: $10; background check: $68.98 fingerprinting plus $10 administrative fee and $1 service charge. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the New Jersey Department of Education, Educator Certification.
Does New Jersey accept teaching licenses from other states?
Out-of-state teachers must hold a license equivalent to the New Jersey certificate type, subject area and grade level. Contact the New Jersey Department of Education, Educator Certification before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in New Jersey?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in New Jersey was $78,200 for elementary teachers, $78,770 for middle school teachers and $82,200 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Certification New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teachers (certification pathways) New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Traditional Route, Step 1: Establishing Eligibility New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternate Route, Step 1: Establishing Eligibility New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternate Route, Step 2: Employment and Provisional Teacher Process New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternate Route, Step 3: Becoming Permanently Certified New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Reciprocity New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Testing Requirements for Certification in New Jersey New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Candidate Basic Skills Requirement New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Limited Certificate of Eligibility and Limited CEAS Pilot Program New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved Certificate of Eligibility (CE) Program Providers New Jersey Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Criminal History Review New Jersey Department of Education, Office of Student Protection (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Criminal History: New Applicant New Jersey Department of Education, Office of Student Protection (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Criminal History Review FAQ New Jersey Department of Education, Office of Student Protection (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Core Combined (5752) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Early Childhood Education (5025) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Middle School English Language Arts (5047) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Chemistry (5246) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Social Studies (5581) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Teaching Reading: K-12 (5206) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, New Jersey US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS340000000000025202113, OEUS340000000000025202213, OEUS340000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)