No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Practitioner Teacher License through an approved educator preparation program
Applicants must be at least 18, hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution and be enrolled in or have completed a State Board-approved educator preparation program that recommends them. They also submit qualifying scores on the professional assessments set by the State Board, official transcripts and, where applicable, proof of meeting Tennessee Literacy Success Act requirements. Every licensure transaction is submitted through TNCompass; paper applications are no longer accepted.
- Earn a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
- Complete a State Board-approved educator preparation program
- Pass the required content and pedagogical assessments
- Meet Tennessee Literacy Success Act requirements if they apply to your endorsement
- Create a TNCompass account and submit the application
- Have official transcripts sent to the Office of Educator Licensure
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Job-embedded pathway
People who hold a bachelor's degree in another field can enroll in an approved educator preparation program with job-embedded clinical practice and serve as teacher of record while completing it. In Tennessee, job-embedded means holding a Practitioner license while enrolled in the program; teaching on a permit does not count. The program applies for the Practitioner license on the candidate's behalf once requirements are met, and the edTPA is waived for in-state job-embedded educators.
- Hold a bachelor's degree
- Contact state-approved educator preparation providers about job-embedded programs
- Enroll in a program and secure a teaching position
- Meet the Practitioner license requirements so your program can apply on your behalf
- Complete the program while teaching as teacher of record
Changing careers into teaching in Tennessee
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 7 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Tennessee was $61,860 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teach For America | Not stated | State list | |
| Relay Graduate School of Education | Not stated | State list | |
| Nashville Teacher Residency | Not stated | State list | |
| Arete Public Montessori Residency | Not stated | State list | |
| ALL Memphis | Not stated | State list | |
| TEACH Sumner | Not stated | State list | |
| Teach Wilson County | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Tennessee.
Out-of-state educators
Teachers with a professional-level license from another state can receive a Tennessee Professional license, valid six years, with a bachelor's degree and transcripts. Teachers with an initial-level out-of-state license, or who completed an out-of-state preparation program with a recommendation, receive a three-year Practitioner license, with content or pedagogical assessments due at application or before renewal depending on the pathway. All applications are submitted in TNCompass.
- Create a TNCompass account
- Choose the out-of-state pathway that matches your license level
- Upload your out-of-state license and the Out-of-State Educator Preparation Verification form if your pathway requires it
- Have official transcripts sent to the Office of Educator Licensure
- Submit qualifying assessment scores if your pathway requires them
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Tennessee uses Praxis, edTPA and NES for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5001 | Subtests: Reading and Language Arts (5002) 157; Mathematics (5003) 157; Social Studies (5004) 155; Science (5005) 159 | $180 | Elementary Education K-5 Source |
| Teaching Reading: Elementary Praxis · Reading instruction | 5205 | 159 | $156 | Elementary Education K-5, Early Childhood Education pre-K-3 and Special Education Interventionist K-8 Source |
| Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5534 | 163 | $130 | Early Childhood Education pre-K-3 (taken with Praxis 5025 and 5205) Source |
| Early Childhood Education Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5025 | 156 | $130 | Early Childhood Education pre-K-3 Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | Special Education Interventionist K-8 and 6-12 Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades K-6 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5622 | 160 | $156 | Initial teacher license in an endorsement area with no applicable edTPA, and some out-of-state pathways Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades 7-12 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5624 | 157 | $156 | Initial teacher license in an endorsement area with no applicable edTPA, and some out-of-state pathways Source |
| edTPA (handbook matched to the endorsement area) edTPA · Performance assessment | 40 on most handbooks; 48 on Elementary Education: Literacy with Mathematics and Elementary Education: Mathematics with Literacy | Not published | Initial teacher license; from July 1, 2026 not required for candidates in State Board-approved programs with a Department-approved clinical practice Source | |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | English 6-12 Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Mathematics 6-12 Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Biology 6-12 Source |
| World and U.S. History: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5941 | 157 | $130 | History 6-12 Source |
| Tennessee Foundational Literacy Skills Assessment Tennessee Foundational Literacy Skills Assessment · Reading instruction | 80% | Not published | K-5 endorsements under the Tennessee Literacy Success Act, unless a Department-approved foundational literacy course is completed Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Licensure application (no fee is charged to apply for licensure) | $0 | Source |
Background check
Not published by the state; check with the agency.
Your first license
License: Practitioner Teacher License. It is valid for 3 years. Advancing to the Professional license (6 years) requires completing an approved program, passing required content assessments, 25 months of qualifying experience and 30 PDPs or a Director of Schools recommendation. Source
Renewal
Licenses must be renewed in TNCompass on or before the expiration date. Renewing a Practitioner license requires 30 professional development points earned during the license's validity period, and renewing a Professional license requires 60 PDPs or two years of qualifying experience; Tennessee Literacy Success Act requirements also apply where relevant. Requirement: 60 PDPs or two years of qualifying experience per Professional license period. Source
Teacher pay in Tennessee
Elementary teachers in Tennessee earned a median of $59,980 a year in May 2025, $3,990 below the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $59,980 | $59,850 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $60,690 | $61,030 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $61,860 | $62,950 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $62,560 | $63,380 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $60,000 | $60,950 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $61,360 | $61,990 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Tennessee reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- English as a Second Language: English as a Second Language (statewide)
- Mathematics (statewide)
- Special Education (statewide)
- World Languages: Any World Language (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Tennessee?
Tennessee uses Praxis, edTPA and NES. Core tests include Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001); Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205); Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (5534); Early Childhood Education (5025). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Tennessee Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Tennessee without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. People who hold a bachelor's degree in another field can enroll in an approved educator preparation program with job-embedded clinical practice and serve as teacher of record while completing it. This page lists 7 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Tennessee?
Published fees include Licensure application (no fee is charged to apply for licensure): $0. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Tennessee Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure.
Does Tennessee accept teaching licenses from other states?
Teachers with a professional-level license from another state can receive a Tennessee Professional license, valid six years, with a bachelor's degree and transcripts. Contact the Tennessee Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Tennessee?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Tennessee was $59,980 for elementary teachers, $60,690 for middle school teachers and $61,860 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Educator Licensure & Preparation Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Tennessee Department of Education Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- New to Education Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Out-of-State Educators Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensed Educators Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Candidate Assessment Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Assessments Guidance (revised June 2025) Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Policy 5.105: Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators (revised February 27, 2026) Tennessee State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Rules, Policies and Guidance: Policies Tennessee State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure FAQ & Contact Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) Guide: Licensure Resource Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Resources Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Preparation Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Preparation Programs/Providers Tennessee Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (5534) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Early Childhood Education (5025) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades K-6 (5622) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades 7-12 (5624) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: World and U.S. History: Content Knowledge (5941) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Tennessee US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS470000000000025202113, OEUS470000000000025202213, OEUS470000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)