No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Standard University Preparation Program
Candidates enroll in an approved university or college educator preparation program and earn their degree and teacher training at the same time, finishing with a full-time semester of student teaching under a mentor teacher. Graduates receive a bachelor's or master's degree and an institutional recommendation, which the Utah State Board of Education uses to issue the Professional Educator License. Utah has ten university-based programs, and the state offers student teaching stipends of up to $6,000.
- Enroll in an approved Utah university or college educator preparation program
- Complete content and teaching coursework plus early field experience
- Complete a full-time semester of student teaching
- Pass the Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment if earning an Early Childhood, Elementary or Special Education license
- Create a USIMS account, finish the checklist and pass the USBE background check
- Confirm your university's recommendation in USIMS within 30 days
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Alternate Pathway to Professional Educator License (APPEL)
APPEL is a USBE-approved alternative route that lets candidates earn a Professional Educator License while working as a paid teacher, through a program run by a school district, charter school or other approved sponsor. Most programs require employment with a partnering district or charter school, and some require an Associate Educator License before admission. Candidates complete a Professional Learning Plan with coursework, mentoring and observed teaching, then the program director recommends them for the professional license.
- Get hired by a Utah district or charter school that hosts or partners with an approved APPEL program
- Apply for an Associate Educator License if your employer requires it
- Apply directly to the APPEL program director
- Create a Professional Learning Plan with your APPEL director
- Complete coursework, mentoring and evaluations while teaching
- Apply for the Professional Educator License after the director's recommendation
Changing careers into teaching in Utah
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 15 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Utah was $76,330 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Utah Association of Public Charter Schools | Not stated | State list | |
| Northeastern Utah Educational Services (NUES) | Not stated | State list | |
| Central Utah Educational Services (CUES) | Not stated | State list | |
| Southwest Educational Development Center (SEDC) | Not stated | State list | |
| Southeastern Educational Service Center (SESC) | Not stated | State list | |
| Granite School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Jordan School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Davis School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Alpine School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Canyons School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Salt Lake City School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Nebo School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Provo City School District | Not stated | State list | |
| Catholic Diocese of Salt Lake City | Not stated | State list | |
| Teacher Development Services (RTC) | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Utah.
License Equivalency Review (LER)
Educators with a bachelor's degree, a completed preparation program and a standard renewable license from another state or country apply through the License Equivalency Review in the SM Apply portal. Utah participates in the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact, so holders of a professional license from another member state are granted an equivalent Utah license; probationary, provisional, LEA-specific and associate licenses do not qualify. Applicants also complete a Utah background check and send official transcripts.
- Create a USIMS educator account and complete the checklist items
- Request the background check in USIMS and submit fingerprints
- Gather a copy of your out-of-state or international license
- Have official transcripts sent directly to USBE
- Submit the LER application in SM Apply
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Utah uses Praxis and Foundations of Reading for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA): Foundations of Reading Foundations of Reading · Reading instruction | 890 | 240 | $139 | Required for Early Childhood, Elementary and Special Education professional licenses for Utah program candidates, including APPEL Source |
| Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5001 | Subtests: Reading/Language Arts (5002) 157; Mathematics (5003) 157; Social Studies (5004) 155; Science (5005) 159 | $180 | Optional competency test for the Elementary (K-8) and Early Childhood license areas Source |
| Early Childhood Education Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5025 | 156 | $130 | Optional competency test for the Early Childhood Education (K-3) license area Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 139 | $130 | Optional competency test for the Special Education Mild/Moderate Disabilities endorsement Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | Optional competency test for the English Language Arts endorsement (5039 at 162 is also accepted) Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 150 | $130 | Optional competency test for the Mathematics, Middle School endorsement Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 148 | $120 | Optional competency test for the Science, Biology endorsement Source |
| Chemistry Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5246 | 140 | $130 | Optional competency test for the Science, Chemistry endorsement Source |
| World and U.S. History: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5941 | 156 | $130 | Optional competency test for the History endorsement and part of the Social Studies Composite Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Professional Educator License renewal | $0 | Source |
| Utah LiveScan fingerprinting site fee | $25 | Source |
| Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) background check fee | $20 | Source |
Background check
All Utah educators must pass a criminal background check by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification before receiving a license, requested in USIMS with a valid Social Security number. Applicants in Utah are fingerprinted at a LiveScan site, while applicants outside Utah mail a standard FD-258 fingerprint card; background checks from other states cannot be shared with USBE. Fee: $25 LiveScan site fee plus $20 BCI fee; fees outside Utah vary. Source
Your first license
License: Professional Educator License. It is valid for 5 school years. The Associate Educator License, for people teaching before finishing a preparation program, is valid for 3 school years and cannot be renewed; employed educators can request a one-time extension of up to 2 school years. Source
Renewal
Utah educator licenses stay valid through June 30 of their expiration year, can be renewed in USIMS starting January 1 of that year, and carry no renewal fee. Educators who worked in a Utah school for the entire past five years do not need a renewal form; others document at least 100 renewal hours on a form signed by a licensed administrator. Every renewal includes the Utah Educator Ethics Review. Requirement: 100 renewal hours every 5 years (form not required for educators employed in a Utah school for all 5 years). Source
Teacher pay in Utah
Elementary teachers in Utah earned a median of $74,810 a year in May 2025, $10,840 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $74,810 | $73,630 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $79,180 | $80,660 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $76,330 | $75,460 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $61,290 | $65,210 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $78,920 | $78,740 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $64,210 | $65,640 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Utah reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Utah?
Utah uses Praxis and Foundations of Reading. Core tests include Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA): Foundations of Reading (890); Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001); Early Childhood Education (5025); Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Utah State Board of Education, Educator Licensing before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Utah without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. APPEL is a USBE-approved alternative route that lets candidates earn a Professional Educator License while working as a paid teacher, through a program run by a school district, charter school or other approved sponsor. This page lists 15 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Utah?
Published fees include Professional Educator License renewal: $0; Utah LiveScan fingerprinting site fee: $25; Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) background check fee: $20; background check: $25 LiveScan site fee plus $20 BCI fee; fees outside Utah vary. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Utah State Board of Education, Educator Licensing.
Does Utah accept teaching licenses from other states?
Educators with a bachelor's degree, a completed preparation program and a standard renewable license from another state or country apply through the License Equivalency Review in the SM Apply portal. Contact the Utah State Board of Education, Educator Licensing before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Utah?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Utah was $74,810 for elementary teachers, $79,180 for middle school teachers and $76,330 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Educator Licensing Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Utah State Board of Education Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Becoming a Utah Educator Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Pathways to Educator Licensing Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Tests Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Utah State Licensure Test Options 2025-26 Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Apply for an Educator License Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Utah License Equivalency Review (LER) Application Guide (April 2026) Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Educator Background Checks Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Fingerprinting Instructions Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Renew an Educator License Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- USBE Approved APPEL Programs List Utah State Board of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Foundations of Reading (890) Pearson Evaluation Systems (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Early Childhood Education (5025) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: Chemistry (5246) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis test page: World and U.S. History: Content Knowledge (5941) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Utah US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS490000000000025202113, OEUS490000000000025202213, OEUS490000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)