No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Initial Teaching License
New Kansas teachers need a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited institution, completion of a Kansas-approved teacher preparation program, a teacher work sample verified by the college or university, and passing scores on the content assessment for each endorsement area. Applications are submitted through the Kansas Licensure Application System (KLAS). The Initial Teaching License is upgraded to the Professional License after the teacher completes a two-year mentoring program approved by the Kansas State Board of Education.
- Earn a bachelor's degree and complete a Kansas-approved teacher preparation program.
- Complete a teacher work sample verified by your college or university.
- Pass the Praxis content assessment for each endorsement area and send scores to KSDE.
- Complete fingerprinting for the criminal background check.
- Apply for the Initial Teaching License through KLAS and pay the non-refundable processing fee.
- Complete a two-year state-approved mentoring program while teaching to upgrade to the Professional License.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Restricted Teaching License
Mid-career professionals with a degree, and heritage language speakers, can teach high-need secondary subjects, plus a limited number of all-level subjects such as art, music and physical education, under a Restricted Teaching License while completing coursework through a participating university. Applicants need a bachelor's degree, a degree or equivalent coursework in the subject, a GPA of at least 2.75 on the most recent 60 credit hours, a passing Praxis content score and supervised practical training. Kansas also offers residency licenses for elementary (LERP) and special education (LRL) career changers.
- Confirm you have a bachelor's degree, a degree or coursework in the subject, and a GPA of 2.75 or higher on your last 60 credit hours.
- Pass the Praxis content exam for the subject you plan to teach.
- Choose a participating university and have your transcript evaluated.
- Create a personalized plan of study with the university.
- Find a teaching position through Educate Kansas or district websites.
- Begin teaching under the Restricted License while completing coursework and supervised practical training.
Changing careers into teaching in Kansas
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 13 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Kansas was $59,920 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Benedictine College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Emporia State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Fort Hays State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Kansas State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Ottawa University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Pittsburg State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Wichita State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| University of Saint Mary | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Newman University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Baker University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Friends University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Washburn University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| University of Kansas | Not stated | State list | Visit |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Kansas.
Out-of-state applicants
Teachers licensed in another state can apply for a Kansas license that matches the endorsements on their current, standard out-of-state license. Kansas requires evidence of a Praxis or comparable content assessment, verification from the approved preparation program, at least one year of teaching experience within the past two years, fingerprints with a passing criminal background check, and an out-of-state license in good standing with no disciplinary action.
- Request official transcripts showing each degree and its conferral date.
- Submit a copy of your current, standard out-of-state teaching license.
- Provide evidence of a passing Praxis or comparable content assessment.
- Have your preparation program's unit head or designated official complete the program verification form.
- Document at least one year of teaching experience within the past two years.
- Complete fingerprinting and the criminal background check, then apply through KLAS.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Kansas uses Praxis for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Core Combined (subtests 5713, 5723, 5733) Praxis · Basic skills | 5752 | Not published | $150 | May be required before entering a Kansas educator preparation program Source |
| Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (subtests 7002, 7003, 7004, 7005) Praxis · Subject knowledge | 7001 | 7002: 143; 7003: 157; 7004: 155; 7005: 159 | $220 | Elementary education licensure (ETS lists Kansas as offering Praxis Bridge for this test) Source |
| Praxis content assessment for the endorsement area Praxis · Subject knowledge | Not published | Not published | Initial Teaching License and every added endorsement Source | |
| Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5534 | 163 | $130 | Early Childhood Unified, Birth-Grade 3 Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | High Incidence Special Education (Adaptive Special Education) Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 162 | $130 | English Language Arts 6-12 Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | Not published | $130 | Mathematics: Advanced 6-12 Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 154 | $120 | Biology Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Fingerprint background check processing fee (fingerprinting agencies may charge their own fee) | $57 | Source |
| Emergency substitute license application (Greenbush pathway) | $60 | Source |
Background check
Applicants for a first Kansas license, applicants renewing an expired license, and anyone who has never submitted fingerprints for a Kansas license must be fingerprinted. Prints can be taken by a law enforcement agency with LiveScan and sent digitally to the KBI using KSDE code 902KS1600, or taken on a Kansas FD-258 card that is mailed to KSDE with the fee and waiver form. License holders are also enrolled in an ongoing background check. Fee: $57 (plus any fee the fingerprinting agency charges). Source
Your first license
License: Initial Teaching License. Upgrades to the Professional (5-year) License after a two-year mentoring program approved by the Kansas State Board of Education. A Temporary Nonrenewable License, valid only through June 30 of the school year issued, is available to initial applicants who meet every requirement except the Praxis content assessment. Source
Renewal
The Professional License is renewed every five years with a renewal application, the licensure fee and one renewal option completed during the license term. Options include National Board Certification; professional development points under an approved individual development plan (120 points with an advanced degree, or 160 points including at least 80 from college credit with a bachelor's degree); 8 credit hours in an approved program; or, for advanced degree holders, three years of recent accredited experience. Requirement: 120 professional development points (advanced degree) or 160 points (bachelor's degree) every 5 years. Source
Teacher pay in Kansas
Elementary teachers in Kansas earned a median of $56,450 a year in May 2025, $7,520 below the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $56,450 | $56,730 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $60,580 | $59,840 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $59,920 | $58,930 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $59,970 | $60,550 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $59,780 | $60,480 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $60,700 | $61,370 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Kansas reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Special Education: Deaf/Hearing Impairment, Early Childhood, Severely and Profoundly Handicapped, Visual Impairment (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Kansas?
Kansas uses Praxis. Core tests include Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Core Combined (subtests 5713, 5723, 5733) (5752); Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (subtests 7002, 7003, 7004, 7005) (7001); Praxis content assessment for the endorsement area; Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (5534). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Kansas State Department of Education, Teacher Licensure before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Kansas without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Mid-career professionals with a degree, and heritage language speakers, can teach high-need secondary subjects, plus a limited number of all-level subjects such as art, music and physical education, under a Restricted Teaching License while completing coursework through a participating university. This page lists 13 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Kansas?
Published fees include Fingerprint background check processing fee (fingerprinting agencies may charge their own fee): $57; Emergency substitute license application (Greenbush pathway): $60; background check: $57 (plus any fee the fingerprinting agency charges). Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Kansas State Department of Education, Teacher Licensure.
Does Kansas accept teaching licenses from other states?
Teachers licensed in another state can apply for a Kansas license that matches the endorsements on their current, standard out-of-state license. Contact the Kansas State Department of Education, Teacher Licensure before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Kansas?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Kansas was $56,450 for elementary teachers, $60,580 for middle school teachers and $59,920 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Teacher Licensure Kansas State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- License Information and Application Kansas State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Content Assessment Exams Kansas State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Nontraditional Teaching License Pathways Kansas State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Fingerprint Information Kansas State Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Kansas Overview (Praxis testing requirements) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Kansas Praxis Test Requirements ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Core Combined (5752) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (7001) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (5534) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Kansas US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS200000000000025202113, OEUS200000000000025202213, OEUS200000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)