No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Initial License (Level 1) through an approved educator preparation program
Candidates complete a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution that includes the education coursework and student teaching for the license area; for Elementary K-8 this means 30 semester hours of elementary education coursework, 6 semester hours in teaching reading and 24 semester hours in a teaching field. Graduates of NMPED-approved New Mexico programs from 2024 onward complete a portfolio assessment in place of most Praxis exams, but Elementary candidates must still pass Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) and Special Education candidates must pass Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355). Applicants apply through the NMPED Online Licensure Portal, pay the fee and complete a licensure background check.
- Complete a bachelor's degree in an approved educator preparation program, including student teaching and the required coursework for your license area.
- Complete the program portfolio assessment (NMPED-approved New Mexico programs, 2024 graduates onward) or pass the Praxis exams listed for your license.
- Pass Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) for Elementary K-8 or Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) for Special Education Pre K-12.
- Register with IdentoGO and complete the background check for Teacher Licensure.
- Submit the initial application with official sealed transcripts and the $150 fee in the NMPED Online Licensure Portal.
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Alternative Educator Prep Program (EPP)
The Alternative Educator Prep Program is a state-approved post-baccalaureate program for people whose bachelor's degree is not in education. Candidates receive a nonrenewable two-year alternative license that lets them teach while completing face-to-face or online courses at an approved university or community college, with a one-time extension possible. On completion, candidates submit transcripts and a letter of completion to obtain full Level 1 licensure.
- Hold a bachelor's degree with 30 semester hours, a master's degree with 12 graduate hours, or a doctoral degree in a teaching field.
- Get accepted into an approved alternative teacher education program.
- Complete the licensure background check and apply for the alternative license with the $150 fee.
- Teach on the two-year alternative license while completing the program and its portfolio or Praxis requirements.
- Submit official transcripts and the program's letter of completion to obtain full Level 1 licensure.
Changing careers into teaching in New Mexico
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 13 programs below are on the state's approved list.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in New Mexico was $75,900 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central New Mexico Community College (CNM) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Cooperative Educational Services (CES) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Eastern New Mexico University (ENMU) | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Mexico Highlands University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Mexico Junior College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| New Mexico State University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Northern New Mexico College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Santa Fe Community College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| San Juan College | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| University of New Mexico-Gallup | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| University of the Southwest | Not stated | State list | Visit |
| Western New Mexico University | Not stated | State list | Visit |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in New Mexico.
Reciprocating a License
Teachers licensed in another state apply through the NMPED Online Licensure Portal with the $150 fee, official transcripts for a bachelor's or master's degree, a copy of their current out-of-state license, proof of passing teacher exams (or a letter if none were required) and verification of experience on district letterhead. The level of the New Mexico license depends on experience: 1 to 3 years of teaching leads to Level 1, 3 to 5 years with a bachelor's and master's degree to Level 2, and 6 or more years with a master's degree to Level 3A. Graduates of out-of-state programs who were never licensed must meet New Mexico rules, including the required exams.
- Gather your current out-of-state teaching license and official degree transcripts.
- Provide proof of passing teacher exams, or a letter from your state confirming none were required.
- Have previous districts verify your teaching experience on letterhead, broken down by dates and days taught.
- Complete the IdentoGO fingerprint background check for Teacher Licensure.
- Submit the initial application and $150 fee in the NMPED Online Licensure Portal.
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
New Mexico uses Praxis and NMPED-approved program portfolio for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teaching Reading: Elementary Praxis · Reading instruction | 5205 | 159 | $156 | All Elementary K-8 licensure candidates (required by state statute, including 2024 and later portfolio completers) Source |
| Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5017 | 153 | $130 | Elementary K-8 candidates from out-of-state or non-NMPED-approved programs Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5622 | 160 | $156 | Elementary K-8 and Special Education Pre K-12 candidates from out-of-state or non-NMPED-approved programs Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5624 | 157 | $156 | Secondary 6-12 candidates (and Special Education as an alternative to 5622) from out-of-state or non-NMPED-approved programs Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 151 | $130 | All Special Education Pre K-12 licensure candidates (required by state statute) Source |
| Teacher Competency in Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5534 | 160 | $130 | Early Childhood Pre K-3rd Grade candidates from out-of-state or non-NMPED-approved programs Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | Teaching language arts in high school (general content exam) Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Teaching mathematics in high school (general content exam) Source |
| General Science Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5436 | 152 | $130 | Teaching science in high school (general content exam) Source |
| Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 154 | $130 | Teaching social studies in high school (general content exam) Source |
| Teacher Licensure Portfolio (in lieu of Praxis) NMPED-approved program portfolio · Performance assessment | Not published | Not published | Graduates of NMPED-approved New Mexico educator preparation programs from Spring 2024 onward Source | |
| Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5533 | 155 | $130 | Early Childhood Education (Birth-PreK) Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Initial teacher license application | $150 | Source |
| Renewal teacher license application | $120 | Source |
| Adding an endorsement to a teaching license | $120 | Source |
| Initial Teacher Resident License | $40 | Source |
| Online Portfolio for Alternative Licensure (OPAL) initial submission | $320 | Source |
| Criminal background check through IdentoGO (from October 1, 2026; previously $59) | $67 | Source |
Background check
Everyone who needs an NMPED license must have a cleared licensure background check, registered with IdentoGO under service code 2BH23R and reason code Teacher Licensure, before entering a classroom. In-state applicants are fingerprinted by live scan, while out-of-state applicants mail fingerprint cards through the IdentoGO pre-enrollment process. The licensure background report is valid for 24 months, and a school employment background check is not accepted in its place. Fee: $67 (raised from $59 on October 1, 2026). Source
Your first license
License: Level 1 Teaching License. It is valid for 5 years. Level 1 is a provisional license for the first five years of teaching, with a formal mentorship program. Teachers advance to Level 2 after three school years of successful evaluations by earning National Board Certification or completing the APL micro-credentials. Licenses earned through an alternative program carry the word alternative until the teacher reaches Level 2. Source
Renewal
Level 2 and Level 3 licenses are renewed through the NMPED Online Licensure Portal with a renewal application, the $120 fee, and a Superintendent Recommendation for Continuing Licensure, or a notarized statement if the educator did not teach during the life of the license. Licenses may be renewed within 6 months of expiration, starting in January of the expiring year. Level 1 teachers do not renew in the usual way but advance to Level 2 or request an extension. Requirement: Superintendent recommendation for continuing licensure and $120 renewal fee. Source
Teacher pay in New Mexico
Elementary teachers in New Mexico earned a median of $74,550 a year in May 2025, $10,580 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $74,550 | $72,170 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $75,240 | $73,110 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $75,900 | $72,920 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $76,420 | $74,740 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $74,440 | $72,820 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $76,940 | $74,670 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
New Mexico reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Special Education: Cross Categorical (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in New Mexico?
New Mexico uses Praxis and NMPED-approved program portfolio. Core tests include Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205); Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (5017); Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6 (5622); Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12 (5624). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the New Mexico Public Education Department, Professional Licensure Bureau before you register.
Can you become a teacher in New Mexico without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. The Alternative Educator Prep Program is a state-approved post-baccalaureate program for people whose bachelor's degree is not in education. This page lists 13 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in New Mexico?
Published fees include Initial teacher license application: $150; Renewal teacher license application: $120; Adding an endorsement to a teaching license: $120; background check: $67 (raised from $59 on October 1, 2026). Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the New Mexico Public Education Department, Professional Licensure Bureau.
Does New Mexico accept teaching licenses from other states?
Teachers licensed in another state apply through the NMPED Online Licensure Portal with the $150 fee, official transcripts for a bachelor's or master's degree, a copy of their current out-of-state license, proof of passing teacher exams (or a letter if none were required) and verification of experience on district letterhead. Contact the New Mexico Public Education Department, Professional Licensure Bureau before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in New Mexico?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in New Mexico was $74,550 for elementary teachers, $75,240 for middle school teachers and $75,900 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Licensure New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Requirements New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Elementary License (K-8) New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Early Childhood License Pre K-3rd Grade New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Special Education Pre K-12 New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Secondary 6-12 New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Endorsements: How to Add to a License New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Assessment Requirements New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternative Licensure Program Opportunities New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternative Educator Prep Program (EPP) New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Approved Educator Preparation Programs (EPPs), July 1, 2026 New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Processing Fees / Fee Schedule New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Background Information New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Frequently Asked Questions New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher License Advancement New Mexico Public Education Department (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Elementary Education: Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (5017) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6 (5622) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12 (5624) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content (5534) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Mathematics (5165) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis General Science (5436) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Praxis Social Studies (5581) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge (5533) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- New Mexico Required Tests (Praxis) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, New Mexico US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS350000000000025202113, OEUS350000000000025202213, OEUS350000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)