Independent publication. We may earn a fee when you request information from a school or buy a course through links marked as sponsored. It never changes what we recommend. How we work
State guide

How to Become a Teacher in the District of Columbia

Routes to a District of Columbia teaching license, the required tests with codes and qualifying scores, fees, approved alternative programs and teacher pay, checked against the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE), Educator Credentialing and Certification and other primary sources.

Checked November 7, 202627 primary sourcesUS focus

No degree yet: the traditional route

For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.

Standard Teacher Credential, Option 1 (approved program completer)

Applicants who have completed an approved teacher certification program in the subject area, hold at least a bachelor's degree, meet the criminal history background requirement and have passing scores on all required exams qualify for the Standard Teacher Credential. The credential is valid for four years and is renewable. Applicants with a bachelor's degree GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale do not need basic skills test scores.

  1. Complete an approved teacher certification program in the subject area
  2. Pass the required basic skills exams unless the bachelor's GPA is 3.0 or higher
  3. Pass the subject content and pedagogy exams for the credential area
  4. Have the program certification officer sign the program completer form
  5. Obtain an FBI Identity History Summary Check and official transcripts
  6. Apply and upload all documents through the Educator Credentialing Information System (ECIS)

Source: osse.dc.gov

Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route

For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.

Initial Teacher Credential (enrolled in an approved program)

Candidates with a bachelor's degree who are enrolled in an approved teacher certification program and are hired by a DC local education agency (LEA) can receive a nonrenewable Initial Teacher Credential while they complete their preparation. They must meet the basic skills requirement (or the 3.0 GPA standard), pass the subject content exam and submit a background check. Initial credential holders can later qualify for the Standard Teacher Credential by completing the program or by earning effective ratings for two school years under an OSSE-approved evaluation system.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree
  2. Enroll in an OSSE-approved teacher certification program and have the Program Admission Verification Form completed
  3. Secure a teaching position with a DC LEA and have its hiring official sign the LEA request form
  4. Pass the basic skills exams (unless the bachelor's GPA is 3.0 or higher) and the subject content exam
  5. Submit the Identity History Summary Check and official transcripts through ECIS

Source: osse.dc.gov

Changing careers into teaching in the District of Columbia

If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 6 programs below are on the state's approved list, and one of them says its coursework is online.

For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in the District of Columbia was $82,750 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.

State-approved alternative certification programs

ProgramOnlineListed by
Moreland University (TEACH-NOW)YesState listVisit
Relay Graduate School of EducationNot statedState listVisit
City Teaching AllianceNot statedState listVisit
KIPP DC Capital Teaching ResidencyNot statedState listVisit
AppleTree Early Learning Teacher ResidencyNot statedState listVisit
Georgetown University Teacher Residency ProgramNot statedState listVisit

Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.

Licensed in another state

For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in the District of Columbia.

Out-of-state credential holders (reciprocity)

Educators who hold an active, full credential without deficiencies from another US state or territory can receive a DC credential in the applicable area on their first DC application. They must have completed an approved program or the coursework required for a standard or professional credential in the other state and provide passing scores on comparable licensing exams; if comparable scores are not available, the DC-required exams must be passed before a full DC credential is issued. Holders of an active National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification in a comparable area do not need DC exams.

  1. Gather a copy of the active out-of-state credential, official transcripts and exam score reports
  2. Obtain an FBI Identity History Summary Check
  3. Submit a Program Completion Verification Form if an alternative program was completed
  4. Scan all documents as complete PDFs and upload them with the online application
  5. Pay the non-refundable $50 processing fee for each credential area

Source: osse.dc.gov

Required tests, codes and qualifying scores

District of Columbia uses Praxis for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.

TestCodeQualifying scoreFeeFor
Core Academic Skills for Educators (Reading, Writing, Mathematics)
Praxis · Basic skills
5752 or 5751 (Reading 5713 or 5712; Writing 5723 or 5722; Mathematics 5733 or 5732)Reading 156; Writing 162; Mathematics 150$150 (combined); $90 per subtestAll classroom teacher credentials unless the bachelor's degree GPA is 3.0 or higher; ACT, SAT and GRE scores are accepted alternatives Source
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects
Praxis · Subject knowledge
7001 (subtests 7002, 7003, 7004, 7005)Teaching Reading (7002) 143; Mathematics (7003) 157; Social Studies (7004) 155; Science (7005) 159$220Elementary (1-6) Source
Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades K-6
Praxis · Teaching knowledge
5622160$156Elementary (1-6) Source
Early Childhood Education
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5025156$130Early Childhood (PreK-3) Source
Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Early Childhood
Praxis · Teaching knowledge
5621157$156Early Childhood (PreK-3) and Early Childhood Special Education (PreK-3) Source
Special Education: Foundational Knowledge
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5355145$130Special Education: Non-Categorical (PreK-12), with a PLT exam; Core Knowledge and Applications (5354, score 151) is also accepted Source
English Language Arts: Content Knowledge
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5038167$130English (7-12) Source
Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades 7-12
Praxis · Teaching knowledge
5624157$156Secondary (7-12) credentials including English, mathematics, sciences and social studies Source
Mathematics
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5165159$130Mathematics (7-12); Mathematics: Content Knowledge (5161, score 160) is also accepted Source
Biology
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5236154$120Biology (7-12); Biology: Content Knowledge (5235, score 150) is also accepted Source
Chemistry
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5246146$130Chemistry (7-12); Chemistry: Content Knowledge (5245, score 152) is also accepted Source
Social Studies
Praxis · Subject knowledge
5581153$130Social Studies (7-12); Social Studies: Content Knowledge (5081, score 155) is also accepted Source

Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.

Fees, background check and license validity

ItemAmountSource
Credential application processing fee, per credential area (non-refundable)$50Source
FBI Identity History Summary Check requested directly from the FBI$18Source

Background check

Every applicant for an OSSE educator credential must submit an FBI Identity History Summary Check (IHSC) report with the application. The report is requested directly from the FBI Criminal Justice Information Services Division or through an FBI-approved channeler agency and must have been issued within the 12 months before the application. Applicants currently employed and recently fingerprinted by DC Public Schools generally do not need to submit an IHSC report. Fee: $18. Source

Your first license

License: Initial Teacher Credential. It is valid for 3 years (expires July 31 of the third year from issuance). Nonrenewable. The renewable Standard Teacher Credential is valid for four years. A nonrenewable One-Year Provisional Credential is available to first-time DC applicants hired by a DC LEA for an assignment area where no initial or standard credential holder is available. Source

Renewal

A Standard Teacher Credential can be renewed through ECIS within 150 days (five months) of its expiration date, or reinstated after it expires. Applicants choose one of three options: professional learning units, performance ratings (accepted only from the DC Public Schools IMPACT system) or test scores. The professional learning option requires 120 clock hours, at least half of them content-specific. Requirement: 120 clock hours of professional learning (at least 60 content-specific) per renewal of the 4-year Standard credential. Source

Teacher pay in the District of Columbia

Elementary teachers in the District of Columbia earned a median of $96,580 a year in May 2025, $32,610 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.

TeachersMedianMeanUS median
Elementary SOC 25-2021$96,580$93,910$63,970
Middle school SOC 25-2022$79,900$84,060$64,370
High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031$82,750$88,460$72,040
Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052$97,910$94,970$65,120
Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057$79,170$87,810$66,810
Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058$99,670$101,340$74,260

Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.

Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27

The District of Columbia reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.

  • Art and Music Education (statewide)
  • Career and Technical Education: Military Science (statewide)
  • Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
  • Early Childhood (statewide)
  • English as a Second Language (statewide)
  • Health and Physical Fitness (statewide)
  • Language Arts (statewide)
  • Mathematics (statewide)
  • Science (statewide)
  • Social Studies (statewide)
  • Special Education (statewide)
  • World Languages (statewide)

Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What tests do you need to become a teacher in the District of Columbia?

District of Columbia uses Praxis. Core tests include Core Academic Skills for Educators (Reading, Writing, Mathematics) (5752 or 5751 (Reading 5713 or 5712; Writing 5723 or 5722; Mathematics 5733 or 5732)); Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (7001 (subtests 7002, 7003, 7004, 7005)); Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades K-6 (5622); Early Childhood Education (5025). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE), Educator Credentialing and Certification before you register.

Can you become a teacher in the District of Columbia without a teaching degree?

Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. Candidates with a bachelor's degree who are enrolled in an approved teacher certification program and are hired by a DC local education agency (LEA) can receive a nonrenewable Initial Teacher Credential while they complete their preparation. This page lists 6 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.

How much does a teaching license cost in the District of Columbia?

Published fees include Credential application processing fee, per credential area (non-refundable): $50; FBI Identity History Summary Check requested directly from the FBI: $18; background check: $18. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE), Educator Credentialing and Certification.

Does the District of Columbia accept teaching licenses from other states?

Educators who hold an active, full credential without deficiencies from another US state or territory can receive a DC credential in the applicable area on their first DC application. Contact the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE), Educator Credentialing and Certification before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.

How much do teachers make in the District of Columbia?

According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in the District of Columbia was $96,580 for elementary teachers, $79,900 for middle school teachers and $82,750 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.

Sources

  1. Educator Credentialing and Certification Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  2. Teacher Certification Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  3. Standard Teacher Credential Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  4. Initial Teacher Credential Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  5. Out-of-State Credential Holders (Reciprocity) Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  6. Credential Renewal Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  7. How to Obtain a FBI Identity History Summary Check (IHSC) Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  8. Educator Credentialing Exams Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  9. Educator Credentialing Exams (PDF, 5/2026) Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  10. Directory of Approved Educator Preparation Programs Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  11. Educator Preparation Providers in Washington, DC (PDF, July 2026) Office of the State Superintendent of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
  12. Core Combined (5752; subtests 5713, 5723, 5733) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  13. Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading (5713) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  14. Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (7001) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  15. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades K-6 (5622) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  16. Early Childhood Education (5025) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  17. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Early Childhood (5621) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  18. Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  19. English Language Arts: Content Knowledge (5038) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  20. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades 7-12 (5624) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  21. Mathematics (5165) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  22. Biology (5236) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  23. Chemistry (5246) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  24. Social Studies (5581) ETS Praxis (accessed November 7, 2026)
  25. Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, District of Columbia US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
  26. BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS110000000000025202113, OEUS110000000000025202213, OEUS110000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
  27. Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)