No degree yet: the traditional route
For high school students, college students and anyone without a bachelor's degree. You earn the degree and the teacher preparation in one program.
Standard license through an educator preparation program
First-time applicants must meet Nevada's requirements for academic preparation, student teaching and competency testing for the license area sought. Most teaching licenses require the Praxis Core tests in reading, writing and mathematics, the Principles of Learning and Teaching test for the grade level, and any required Praxis content tests, taken within ten years before applying. Applicants who are missing tests may receive a non-renewable provisional license valid for three years.
- Complete a teacher preparation program with student teaching at a regionally accredited institution
- Pass Praxis Core (or an accepted exemption such as qualifying SAT, ACT or GRE scores)
- Pass the Principles of Learning and Teaching test and any required Praxis content test
- Apply and pay the $210 fee in the OPAL online portal, with official transcripts
- Submit fingerprints for the state and FBI background check
Bachelor's in another field: the alternative route
For people who already hold a bachelor's degree in a subject other than education.
Alternative Route to Licensure (ARL)
ARL programs are approved by the Commission on Professional Standards. Candidates need a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution and must be accepted for enrollment by a qualified ARL provider. Nevada does not reciprocate ARL licenses from other states, territories or countries, and fingerprinting is required for a new ARL license and again when converting it to a standard license.
- Hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
- Enroll in an approved ARL program and get an initial ARL letter from the provider
- Create an OPAL account and submit the application and supporting documents
- Complete fingerprinting for the background check
- Finish the provider's program and apply to convert the ARL license to a standard license
Changing careers into teaching in Nevada
If you already have a bachelor's degree and some years in another job, start with the alternative route described above. It is built for people who did not study education. The 10 programs below are on the state's approved list, and one of them says its coursework is online.
For pay context, the median annual wage for high school teachers in Nevada was $65,520 in May 2025, according to the BLS OEWS state estimates. If your background matches a subject on the state's shortage list, that list is further down this page.
State-approved alternative certification programs
| Program | Online | Listed by | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teachers of Tomorrow | Yes | State list | Visit |
| iteach | Not stated | State list | |
| TNTP | Not stated | State list | |
| Western Governors University | Not stated | State list | |
| Grand Canyon University | Not stated | State list | |
| Great Basin College | Not stated | State list | |
| Nevada State University | Not stated | State list | |
| University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV) | Not stated | State list | |
| University of Nevada Reno (UNR) | Not stated | State list | |
| Washoe County School District | Not stated | State list |
Programs shown are a selection from the state's approved list, checked November 7, 2026. "Online" reflects what the program or the state says about its coursework; teaching practice is always in a real school. The full, current list is on the agency's approved-program page.
Licensed in another state
For teachers who hold a license from another state and want to teach in Nevada.
Reciprocal licensure
Applicants who hold a valid, non-conditional, non-provisional license from another US state or territory may be eligible for reciprocal licensure. Reciprocity in most cases waives Nevada's testing requirements, and staff match licenses and endorsements to the closest Nevada equivalents. Original transcripts and copies of all current licenses are still required.
- Confirm your out-of-state license is valid, non-conditional and non-provisional
- Apply through OPAL and upload your current licenses as PDFs in the out-of-state licensure section
- Send original transcripts
- Complete the Nevada fingerprint background check
Required tests, codes and qualifying scores
Nevada uses Praxis for teacher licensure. The table lists the core tests by license area, with the qualifying score and fee exactly as the source publishes them. Which tests you take depends on the license area you are seeking, so check the full list for your subject before you register.
| Test | Code | Qualifying score | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, Writing and Mathematics Praxis · Basic skills | 5713, 5723, 5733 | Reading (5713): 150; Writing (5723): 156; Mathematics (5733): 144 | $90 per test | All areas (exemptions include qualifying SAT, ACT or GRE scores) Source |
| Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (subtests 5002, 5003, 5004, 5005) Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5001 | Reading and Language Arts (5002): 157; Mathematics (5003): 157; Social Studies (5004): 155; Science (5005): 159 | $180 | Elementary (K-8) Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5622 | 160 | $156 | Elementary (K-8) Source |
| Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12 Praxis · Teaching knowledge | 5624 | 157 | $156 | Secondary licenses Source |
| Early Childhood Education: Foundational Knowledge and Content Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5534 | 157 | $130 | Early Childhood Education: Birth-Grade 2 Source |
| Special Education: Foundational Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5355 | 145 | $130 | Special Education Generalist, Resource Room Source |
| English Language Arts: Content Knowledge Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5038 | 167 | $130 | English (secondary) Source |
| Mathematics Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5165 | 159 | $130 | Mathematics (secondary) Source |
| Biology Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5236 | 149 | $120 | Biological Science (secondary) Source |
| Chemistry Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5246 | 140 | $130 | Chemistry (secondary) Source |
| Social Studies Praxis · Subject knowledge | 5581 | 153 | $130 | Social Studies (secondary) Source |
Scores and fees change. Confirm both on the testing company's page before you register.
Fees, background check and license validity
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| New application (or reapplication for a previous or expired license) | $210.00 | Source |
| Renewal of a current license | $180.00 | Source |
| Additional endorsement (each) | $80.00 | Source |
| Six-month license extension (once per licensure period) | $30.00 | Source |
Background check
Every applicant for a new or renewed license submits fingerprints, which are sent to the Nevada Department of Public Safety and the FBI. Nevada residents are encouraged to use a Department-approved Livescan vendor after applying and paying in OPAL; out-of-state applicants must submit an FBI FD-258 fingerprint card. A license is not issued, even provisionally, until the background check is complete, which usually takes four to five weeks. Source
Your first license
License: Standard License. It is valid for 5 years. Applicants with deficiencies such as missing tests may receive a non-renewable provisional license valid for 3 years. A Professional License (master's degree plus at least five years of full-time teaching) is valid for 6 years. Source
Renewal
Licenses issued on or after September 16, 2024 renew with 90 clock hours of continuing education, 6 semester credits, or a combination, earned at any time during the licensure period. Licenses issued before that date require 15 hours per year. Standard and Professional licenses can be renewed in OPAL up to nine months before expiration, and a new background check is part of renewal. Requirement: 90 clock hours or 6 semester credits per licensure period. Source
Teacher pay in Nevada
Elementary teachers in Nevada earned a median of $65,040 a year in May 2025, $1,070 above the national median of $63,970. Half of teachers in each occupation earn more than the median and half earn less. What you earn in a given district depends on its salary schedule, your experience and any graduate credits.
| Teachers | Median | Mean | US median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary SOC 25-2021 | $65,040 | $65,840 | $63,970 |
| Middle school SOC 25-2022 | $66,300 | $68,810 | $64,370 |
| High school (secondary) SOC 25-2031 | $65,520 | $68,570 | $72,040 |
| Special education, elementary SOC 25-2052 | $65,110 | $67,760 | $65,120 |
| Special education, middle school SOC 25-2057 | $63,280 | $60,690 | $66,810 |
| Special education, secondary SOC 25-2058 | $60,810 | $63,920 | $74,260 |
Annual wages, cross-industry estimates, from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics May 2025 state tables, retrieved through the BLS Public Data API on November 7, 2026. Special education teachers are shown separately; our guide to the online master's in special education covers the add-on and initial-license options.
Teacher shortage areas, 2026-27
Nevada reported these subject areas to the US Department of Education as teacher shortage areas for the 2026-27 school year.
- Art and Music Education: Art (statewide)
- Core Subjects: Elementary Education (statewide)
- Early Childhood: Birth through Kindergarten, Early Childhood and Elementary Education (statewide)
- English as a Second Language: English as a Second Language (statewide)
- Language Arts: English (statewide)
- Mathematics: Basic and Advanced Mathematics (statewide)
- Special Education: Autism Spectrum Disorder (statewide)
- World Languages: Spanish (statewide)
Source: US Department of Education, Teacher Shortage Areas report, retrieved November 7, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What tests do you need to become a teacher in Nevada?
Nevada uses Praxis. Core tests include Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, Writing and Mathematics (5713, 5723, 5733); Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (subtests 5002, 5003, 5004, 5005) (5001); Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades K-6 (5622); Principles of Learning and Teaching: Grades 7-12 (5624). Qualifying scores and fees for each test are in the table on this page. The exact list depends on your license area, so confirm it with the Nevada Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure before you register.
Can you become a teacher in Nevada without a teaching degree?
Yes, if you hold a bachelor's degree. ARL programs are approved by the Commission on Professional Standards. This page lists 10 state-approved programs. See our guide to alternative teacher certification for how these programs compare.
How much does a teaching license cost in Nevada?
Published fees include New application (or reapplication for a previous or expired license): $210.00; Renewal of a current license: $180.00; Additional endorsement (each): $80.00. Add the cost of your required tests (listed above) and your preparation program. Fees change, so confirm current amounts with the Nevada Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure.
Does Nevada accept teaching licenses from other states?
Applicants who hold a valid, non-conditional, non-provisional license from another US state or territory may be eligible for reciprocal licensure. Contact the Nevada Department of Education, Office of Educator Licensure before you move to confirm which tests or coursework, if any, you will need.
How much do teachers make in Nevada?
According to BLS OEWS May 2025 estimates, median annual pay in Nevada was $65,040 for elementary teachers, $66,300 for middle school teachers and $65,520 for high school teachers. Pay varies by district, experience and education.
Sources
- Educator Licensure Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- General License Requirements and Fees Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- General License Requirements (PDF, rev. Sept 2024) Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Competency Testing Requirements Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- New Teachers: First Time or Reapplying In-State Applicants Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Fingerprinting and Background Information Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Licensure Renewals Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternative Route to Licensure (ARL) Candidate Information Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Alternative Route to Licensure (ARL) Program Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Nevada Alternative Route to Licensure (ARL) Programs Approved by the Commission on Professional Standards (updated 5/20/26) Nevada Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Nevada Required Tests (Praxis) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Overview of Nevada Testing Requirements ETS (Praxis) (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teachers of Tomorrow: Online Teacher Certification Teachers of Tomorrow (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Biology (5236) ETS (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 state estimates, Nevada US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- BLS Public Data API (OEWS series OEUS320000000000025202113, OEUS320000000000025202213, OEUS320000000000025203113 and related) US Bureau of Labor Statistics (accessed November 7, 2026)
- Teacher Shortage Areas report, 2026-27 US Department of Education (accessed November 7, 2026)